My Review of the Primo Water Dispenser

Updated on October 14, 2017
MarleneB profile image

Marlene relies on customer reviews to make informed decisions. When she discovers a valuable product or service, she shares her experience.

The Primo Water Dispenser dispenses cold and hot water instantly.
The Primo Water Dispenser dispenses cold and hot water instantly. | Source

The Quest for Safe Drinking Water

Soon after my husband and I moved to the country, I realized country living is the life for me. We live among peach orchards, walnut orchards, and rice fields to name the type of farmlands surrounding our modest home. I absolutely love it. But, country living comes with some challenges. One challenge is our water supply. We receive our water from a well, which is great, because our water supply is endless. The challenge is that well water is not necessarily the purest water to use for drinking.

Our well water is tested on a regular basis and each time I view the report, I see chemicals like arsenic and such. The report also rates the amount of chemicals in the water, determining whether or not the level is at an acceptable level for human consumption. I don't know about you, but I am not comfortable allowing other people to decide how much arsenic is safe for me to consume. I understand that farmers use fertilizers and other chemicals in farming and that some of these chemicals are leached into the ground and into the water table. That is one of the expectations with living on or near farms. I get that, but also I’m not one to knowingly ingest something that is harmful to my body, which is why I have a whole house purification system for bathing and such, but I purchased a water dispenser to assure further that the water I drink is safe.

I chose the Primo Water Dispenser for the low cost and for features such as instant hot water and instant cold water.

The Primo Water Dispenser - Door Open

The water bottle fits inside on the bottom and water is siphoned up to the top for dispensing.
The water bottle fits inside on the bottom and water is siphoned up to the top for dispensing. | Source

Inside The Primo Water Dispenser

One of the greatest things about the Primo water dispenser is that I don’t have to lift the water bottles to place them on top of the unit. I’m retired and that is just too much work. The unit uses a generic 3-gallon or 5-gallon water bottle which sits in the bottom of the unit. A tube is placed inside the water bottle and then siphoned up into a reservoir where the water is held until it is needed. I purchased the first couple of water bottles from Primo, but I have discovered that I can refill the water bottles at my local grocery store for a little bit less of the cost of Primo water. The generic water tastes great. I have had the generic water tested by the local home improvement store and I have found that there is no arsenic in the water dispensed from the local refill station at the supermarket. That is good news since it provides me with safe and affordable drinking water.

The bottom loading door swings open easily. All I have to do is remove the tube from the emptied water bottle and push the bottle away before scooting the full water bottle in position to put the tube inside of it. I push the prepared water bottle into the lower chamber, close the door, and now I am ready to dispense more water.

The Primo Water Dispenser Controls

Click thumbnail to view full-size
The Primo water dispenser, dispensing cold water.Hot, room temperature, and cold water - instantly!The Primo water dispenser, dispensing hot water.
The Primo water dispenser, dispensing cold water.
The Primo water dispenser, dispensing cold water. | Source
Hot, room temperature, and cold water - instantly!
Hot, room temperature, and cold water - instantly! | Source
The Primo water dispenser, dispensing hot water.
The Primo water dispenser, dispensing hot water. | Source

Outside the Primo Water Dispenser

The controls are easy to operate. The symbols are easily recognizable for hot, room temperature, and cold water. There is a safety feature on the hot water button, which I like because it keeps small children safe. Instead of just pushing down on the button to dispense hot water, you have to push the red button up first and simultaneously push down on the dispenser button to get hot water.

The dynamics of the hot, room temperature, and cold water is amazing. When the water is siphoned up from the water bottle, the water goes inside the holding chambers. Inside the holding chambers, the water is kept hot for hot water dispensing and cold for cold water dispensing.

Maintenance of the Primo Water Dispenser

If you start to notice a bad taste, then it is probably time to drain the dispenser completely, clean it with a weak bleach solution, and then rinse the system three to four times to make sure you don’t leave a bleach residue. The maintenance guide suggests doing this every three months so that you don’t develop a build-up of mineral in the water reservoirs and water lines.

The spill tray is very easy to clean. You can clean it by hand or place it in the top rack of your dishwasher.

Cost Comparison of Primo Water and Other Brands

My average consumption of 5-gallon water bottles is 12 bottles per month. The minimum quantity that can be ordered from a delivery service is three 5-gallon water bottles per month. As you can see by the chart, bottled water can be quite costly with a delivery service.

You can reuse the bottled water containers by going to a store location that has self-serve water refill stations. Usually, the refill stations are found outside or directly inside the front of the store.

Primo Water and Other Brands

 
Local Store
Primo
Alhambra/Sparkletts
Arrowhead
Type of Service
Self-Serve
Self-Serve
Home Delivery
Home Delivery
Type of Water
Regular
Mineral
Mineral
Mountain Spring
Cost of Dispenser Unit
N/A
$179.00 Stainless Steel Bottom Loading
$17.99 Stainless Steel Overhead Dispenser
$4.00 White Overhead Dispenser
Cost Per 5-Gallon Bottle
$1.25
$1.35
$6.99
$9.06
The cost of Alhambra and Sparkletts is identical; therefore the two are included in the same heading.

Special Features

  • You don’t have to maintain any filters. I like not having to worry about replacing or maintaining filters.
  • The dispenser unit can use both the 3-gallon and 5-gallon water bottles, so, I have a choice.
  • The dispenser unit has been given an ENERGY STAR rating, so it saves on utility usage.
  • It is a beautiful, modern looking style, probably the best looking appliance in my kitchen.

Cons

The only negative thing I found about the Primo water dispenser is that when the compressor is on, the unit can be a little noisy. But, I usually don’t notice it except when someone goes to get a glass of water at night. When the water reservoir is being replenished, the compressor comes on, which isn’t overly annoying, but I can hear it working for about thirty seconds or so.

How to Load the Primo Bottom Loading Water Dispenser

Final Thoughts About the Primo Water Dispenser

I'm enjoying my Primo Bottom Loading Water Dispenser a lot. Probably, the most enjoyable thing about having a water dispenser is that I know I am drinking water that is a little less harmful because it has fewer chemicals than the well water I would be otherwise drinking.

The second most enjoyable thing about having a water dispenser is the hot water feature so I can make a hot cup of tea in an instant.

I think, for the cost and for the fact that it loads from the bottom, saving you from possible back pain, you would find considerable value in the Primo Water Dispenser.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 12 days ago from USA

      Dear "Unknown" I understand your frustration and I am also very sorry to hear that Walmart would not replace or allow you to return the water dispenser. It seems like a bad store policy. Have you tried contacting the Manufacturer? See what they can do about it.

    • profile image

      Unknown 2 weeks ago

      Bought a primo water dispenser top loading from Walmart and haven't had it but 2 1/2 months and it leaks. They won't replace or anything so I am out 110.00 which is a lot to me but I won't shop there again.

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 4 months ago from USA

      Hello Marsha Y Francis. You would have to refer to the owner's manual for cleaning instructions. I hesitate to give instructions about cleaning it because my instructions may be incorrect for your particular model water dispenser.

    • profile image

      Marsha Y Francis 4 months ago

      Hi thank you for the report on the Primo dispenser. I would love some more information on how to clean mines. Do I use the genetic bleach and sit it in the dispenser and let it suck it up or do I use the bleach with water and let it go up through the dispenser? Then refill with plain water and drain 3 to 4 times.

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 4 months ago from USA

      Hi Pamela. I am so sorry to hear about your trouble with the Primo water dispenser. I purchased my dispenser soon after moving to the country over five years ago and have never experienced any difficulty. I am very happy with it. I hope you are able to resolve your issues with customer service.

    • profile image

      Pamela 4 months ago

      After 2 years, the hot water quit working.

      I tried calling C/S BUT their ststem is down for 2 hours, got a recording..

      This is our 2 nd unit, we returned the first one when it wasn’t working correctly either..

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 7 months ago from USA

      Hi Mani. I am sorry that your water dispenser is not giving you hot water now. If it is still under warranty, perhaps you could call the customer service number for help in solving the problem.

    • profile image

      Mani 7 months ago

      I bought water despenser last year its not giving hot water now

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 9 months ago from USA

      Billyjoe RayBob, I am so sorry to hear of your troubles with the Primo Water Dispenser. I have not had any problems with the dispenser that I purchased. Perhaps, if you contact a consumer protection agency they might be able to give you some ideas on where to get help with your faulty water dispenser. I wish you much luck and success on getting the problem resolved.

    • profile image

      Billyjoe RayBob 9 months ago

      I bought one in January. It started dripping the first week. I called Primo and explained my floor is wet... Primo does not have a service department, Primo does not service our products, here's a couple of utube videos, fix it yourself. I explained neither video fixed the problem, and decided to say Primo is not a serious company. Now three quarters of the year later, I get a half gallon of water on the floor every twelve hours.

      Shame on Primo

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 4 years ago from USA

      Hello Rajan. Thank you for your feedback. I get a lot of use out of my water dispenser. It is so convenient and easy to use.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      This a useful review of the Primo water dispenser. I like it for the bottom loading and hot water child safety features.

      Voted up, useful and interesting.

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 5 years ago from USA

      Hello alocsin, thank you for your comment. I absolutely love my water dispenser.

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Sounds like a good deal if you want to be guaranteed some good water. Voting this Up and Useful.

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 5 years ago from USA

      Hi Brett.Tesol. I'm glad to have the bottom loading dispenser. Those water bottles are only five pounds, but having to lift it up to attach it to a dispenser would wear me out for sure. Thank you so much for reading and for sharing.

    • Brett.Tesol profile image

      Brett Caulton 5 years ago from Thailand

      Definitely a better design. Something I may have to consider when settled over this side of the world, as the water supple is not the purest.

      Pinned, up, useful and shared with followers.

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 5 years ago from USA

      Thank you, Mhatter99. Your positive feedback means a lot.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 5 years ago from San Francisco

      Good review. Thank you

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, dengarden.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://dengarden.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)