The Audew Air Fryer: A Review

Updated on November 22, 2019
cam8510 profile image

Chris describes and reviews books, music, merchandise, even laws as a result of personal experience.

This article will provide a detailed review of the Audew 12-liter, 1700-watt air fryer.
This article will provide a detailed review of the Audew 12-liter, 1700-watt air fryer. | Source

Deciding which brand of air fryer to purchase can be a little intimidating. I Googled “Amazon air fryers” and got a list of 29 units ranging from $30 to $390. How does a person know which ones will do what we all hear air fryers can do? We read the reviews, right? That’s why you came here.

I’m going to share with you the following information about the Audew 12-liter, 1700-watt air fryer, along with some of my experiences using the unit.

  1. How an air fryer cooks food

  2. Specs compared to a few other popular units
  3. Benefits of using an Audew air fryer
  4. What comes in the box
  5. How to use the parts and accessories
  6. What I like about the unit
  7. What I do not like about the unit

How an Air Fryer Cooks Food

The air fryer is really the next generation of convection ovens. Both use hot air that is circulated by a fan to cook food faster and more evenly than a conventional oven. The air fryer just does it more efficiently and is designed to provide a crispy fried texture with little or no oil.

Product Specification Comparisons

  • Size: The air fryers I looked at varied in size from about 3–30 liters. The Audew unit is 12 liters. It is important that you purchase the size that fits your needs. I have cooked for five people and I’ve prepared meals for just me. The Audew can handle that range very well. Just be aware, the more food you cram into the fryer, the longer it will take to cook.
  • Power: The large, 28–30 liter fryers require 1800 watts. Those units are 2.5 times larger than the Audew unit that requires 1700 watts. That’s a lot of power for a smaller area. The Emeril Lagasse brand is 3 liters larger than the Audew unit but takes 200 fewer watts. If the size is right, the Audew 12-liter, 1700-watt air fryer is a powerful choice.
  • Digital presets: The Audew unit has eight preset buttons which makes the process of cooking so much easier. You won’t even have to look up a recipe for the cooking time.

Who doesn't love rotisserie chicken?
Who doesn't love rotisserie chicken? | Source

Benefits of Cooking With an Audew Air Fryer:

Time: I recently air-fried a 5-pound chicken in 45 minutes. In a conventional oven, it would have taken about an hour and a half. Check the internal temperature of the chicken to be sure it reaches 165°F.

Four potatoes will take 50–60 minutes in the oven. In the Audew air fryer, they should be out in 30–40 minutes. Let me make a comment here about potatoes in the air fryer. They are great. The skins are crisp and brown, and the inside is fluffy without being dry. These are better than baking them in the oven or the microwave.

Less oil or no oil at all: It’s up to you. Olive oil contains 120 calories per tablespoon. Here is a good way to cut back on a few calories.

Source

What's in the Box?

  • 1 air fryer
  • 1 rotisserie basket
  • 1 rotisserie spit

  • 2 rotisserie spit forks

  • 1 stand for rotisserie spit and meat

  • 10 skewers

  • 1 set of skewer rotisserie racks

  • 1 fetch tool for rotisserie accessories

  • 1 roasting rack

  • 1 drip tray

  • 1 oven mit

  • 1 cookbook

  • 1 instruction manual

Rotisserie Basket and Spit Attachment Instructions

Click thumbnail to view full-size
The left end of the rotisserie basket that attaches to the rotisserie mechanism. Slide it straight in. Do this step before doing the right side.The right end of the rotisserie basket that attaches to the rotisserie mechanism. It will drop straight down into the slot.
The left end of the rotisserie basket that attaches to the rotisserie mechanism. Slide it straight in. Do this step before doing the right side.
The left end of the rotisserie basket that attaches to the rotisserie mechanism. Slide it straight in. Do this step before doing the right side. | Source
The right end of the rotisserie basket that attaches to the rotisserie mechanism. It will drop straight down into the slot.
The right end of the rotisserie basket that attaches to the rotisserie mechanism. It will drop straight down into the slot. | Source

Tips for Using the Audew Air Fryer and Cooking Accessories.

  1. The thumbnail photos immediately above describe how to use the rotisserie accessories. Instructions are included with the photos.
  2. The round black base for the spit and basket is a great tool. It gives you someplace to put the basket, the spit and meat, and the skewer rack when you take them out of the fryer.
  3. I talked to one person who doesn’t want to mess with the rotisserie forks. Those are the two sharp forks that fit onto the spit and hold your chicken/meat in place. She just puts the meat on the roasting rack. I really like the rotisserie part of this fryer so I take a few minutes to put the forks on too.
  4. Do not overfill the rotisserie basket with anything. The hot air has to circulate between the individual pieces. If it is packed too tight, it won’t cook well. Plus, packing it full adds cooking time. You are better off running it twice.
  5. When roasting a whole chicken, get the string for tying the legs together. The feet might snag on the drip tray if the hen is too large.
  6. If you choose to use oil, I recommend avocado oil because it has the highest burning temperature of all cooking oils. The air fryer temperature tops out at 400°F, but the avocado oil has a burn point of 500°F.

Rotisserie Fetch Tool
Rotisserie Fetch Tool | Source

What I Like About the Audew Air Fryer

  • The appearance. It is just a nice looking appliance for your kitchen. You may want to keep it out all the time on the countertop.
  • I love the rotisserie component and accessories.
  • The fetch tool is such a simple thing, but it makes the job of putting the rotisserie accessories in and taking them out so easy.
  • The food tastes great. Here are some of my favorites: Whole chicken, of course, chicken legs, baked potatoes, potato wedges, Pork chops, onion wedges, and more I can’t remember.
  • Easy to use. The presets are very helpful.

It is very helpful that the door is removable for cleaning purposes. It takes a potentially bad situation and makes it manageable.
It is very helpful that the door is removable for cleaning purposes. It takes a potentially bad situation and makes it manageable. | Source

What I Do Not Like About the Audew Air Fryer

  • Cleaning the rotisserie basket was difficult at first. Warning, don’t use a sponge. The steel mesh acts like a cheese grater on the sponge. Need I say more? Get a hard bristled brush, and you will be much happier. Use the brush on the roasting rack as well.
  • The hinges of the door are at the bottom of the unit. (See photo above) Food falls into those spaces. The door does come off easily. Just open it slightly, then pull up. It will come right off. It is difficult to get all the food out, but not impossible.
  • I was disappointed in the blooming onion I tried to make. I read some recipes where people said it was amazing. Others were like me. It didn’t work. It may be the operator. But, I was after the onions, not the blooming part so I just cut the onion up, dipped them in the specified ingredients and roasted them on the roasting rack. They were very good.

Source

My Recommendation

The Audew air fryer is an amazing appliance that gives you many options for meal preparation, saves time, and eliminates the calories from oil if you choose to go oil-free. It is fun to experiment with different recipes that will impress your family with how quickly you whipped up that roasted chicken dinner.

Based on my use of this product, I highly recommend it to anyone who is searching the market for an air fryer.

Questions & Answers

    © 2019 Chris Mills

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment
      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Shauna, I don't think you will be disappointed. It is not a miracle machine, but it definitely has its place in the kitchen. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great day.

      • bravewarrior profile image

        Shauna L Bowling 

        3 weeks ago from Central Florida

        Great review, Chris. Using the air fryer would eliminated the kitchen getting hot as when you use the conventional oven. I love that it does a better job of baking potatoes. Gotta have that crispy skin!

      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Hi Ruby...link provided. hahaha, Thanks for stopping by.

      • always exploring profile image

        Ruby Jean Richert 

        3 weeks ago from Southern Illinois

        I certainly would buy this air-fryer. Great review!

      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Nikki, you are right about how it cooks chicken and potatoes. It also roasts vegetables and dries fruit. Thanks for reading.

      • nikkikhan10 profile image

        Nikki Khan 

        3 weeks ago from London

        I have seen it on Amazon Chris, would give it a go. This is quite healthy way of roasting chicken or potatoes. Thanks for reviewing it.

      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Liz, thank you for that feedback. There are so many choices these days for everything. We should just start trading stuff around after we've used it for a while.

      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Pamela, I have heard about the insta-pot. People how own them really like them. I travel for my work. I already have too much of a kitchen that I drag around. I'll stick with my air fryer for now.

      • Eurofile profile image

        Liz Westwood 

        3 weeks ago from UK

        This is a very thorough and useful review. It contains all the information any potential buyer might need and it has opened my eyes to a product that I was unaware of.

      • Pamela99 profile image

        Pamela Oglesby 

        3 weeks ago from Sunny Florida

        I haven't been too interested in getting an air fryer, but you article sure gives an excellent review. I got an InstaPot earlier this year and I like it. I have to decide if I want another appliance on my counter.

        I think the Audew Air Fryer sounds like a great appliance to cook food a bit differently and I may have to rethink my objections.

      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Manatita, Electronics? I still remember Atari video ping pong....and the abacus.

      • Ericdierker profile image

        Eric Dierker 

        3 weeks ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

        I am pulling mine out. So much healthier. Thank you for getting me off my ass.

      • manatita44 profile image

        manatita44 

        3 weeks ago from london

        Good to know, Bro. We are moving fast with electronics! I saw a car recently, which, with the touch of a remote, parks itself. Ha ha. True, Bro. Have a nice Sunday.

      • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

        Chris Mills 

        3 weeks ago from Kettering, Ohio through January, 2020

        Manatita, it operates by circulating the hot air constantly in a confined space. That is the difference between the air fryer and a normal oven. It cooks things much faster. Yes, it is great for preparing vegetables. You can use it to dry fruit. I saw an air fried tofu recipe. Thanks for reading.

      • manatita44 profile image

        manatita44 

        3 weeks ago from london

        Bro, I didn't even know what this was! Certainly never heard of it! It looks like a very cute version of a microwave.

        Glad you like it and your article is certainly informative. Can it be used by vegetarians?

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, dengarden.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://dengarden.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
      ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)