Chia Pet Review: Is It a Scam?

Updated on January 5, 2018

Ch-ch-ch-chia! — Oh, nostalgia.

Fun for Kids, Great for the Home

I'm a wife and stay-at-home mother of two wonderful children. Some of my favorite hobbies include gardening and home decorating. Isn't it great that the Chia Pet combines my love of gardening and home décor?

These whimsical plants make wonderful additions to my family home and are nice gifts for friends. I'm not the only one who enjoys growing them. Both of my children, Rudy, who is in Year 4 (We live in England, so in the US, it'll be 3rd grade), and Sarah, who will be entering Year 2 (1st grade) enjoy growing them, too. Sarah really loved the Hello Kitty Chia Pet, and she grew it all by herself—I was so proud of her! Although things can get messy, they are great to have in a home.

Since I wasn't entirely sure how they worked, I did a little research. Chia Pets are terracotta figurines that you put chia seeds on. After watering them daily, the seeds sprout within a few weeks. They look really cool and have been around since the early 80s. There are many different types—from animals to cartoon characters and even presidents! Just take a look at the characters!

Chia Pets are
Chia Pets are | Source

The Pros

1. It's easy!

Honestly, they couldn't be any easier to take care of. Even my children can do it! Soak the planter, soak the seeds, spread the seeds on the planter, and water it every day. That's it.

2. It's fun!

I've had so much fun with Chia Pets. Watching them grow, you begin to feel attached to them. It's also fun to watch my kids compete to see who can grow their pet the fastest. Rudy and Sarah spilled a lot of water during their competitions!

3. It makes a great gift.

I can't even count how many people I've given a Chia Pet to! They all loved it, except for my husband. He was hoping I'd give him another Raspberry Pi. He sure does love his tech gadgets! Don't worry, I'll give him another Raspberry Pi for his birthday!

4. They brighten up your home

I love decorating my home and have experimented everything, including Feng Shui. You'll probably end up leaving your Chia Pet on a shelf or desk, but I can tell you one thing: just having the Chia Pet makes a desk/shelf 10x better. It definitely catches the eye!

The Cons

1. You need to be patient.

The seeds won't begin to sprout until after a week of watering. The Chia Pet won't reach its maximum height until about 4-6 weeks of growing. Patience is the key.

2. You need to water every day.

One of the biggest drawbacks is that you need to water your plants daily. Remember, these are called "pets". Treat them with care just like you would with regular pets. Skipping one or two days of watering can bring all of your hard work down. You can set up a reminder for yourself or place the plant in a highly visible place so that you can remember to water it.

3. Sometimes, the seeds won't sprout.

Sometimes, no matter what you do the seeds won't sprout properly. However, the great thing is the planter can be used indefinitely! That's right. Once you buy a particular Chia Pet, you don't have to buy it again, unless something happened to your the planter. Also, the planter comes with enough seeds to plant three times.

4. Things can get messy.

As long as you use the drip tray that is provided, you should be fine. If you have children growing the plants, they'll most likely want to use their fingers to put the seeds on the pet. It's okay! Just make sure they wash their hands afterward.

5. You need good sunlight.

This can be solved by putting your plant on a windowsill. Even though I did say treat your it like you would a pet, you also need to remember that it's a plant, and it needs a lot of light.

Advice: How to Grow a Perfect Chia Pet

1. Soaking the planter

This is one of the biggest problems people have with the Chia Pet. If you don't soak the plant correctly, it doesn't matter how much you water your plant, you probably won't get good results. I suggest that you soak the plant in a bowl large enough to cover the entire plant for a few hours.

2. Soaking the chia seeds

Another problem that people have is putting the seeds on the plant. You must soak the chia seeds in water. I recommend soaking 2 teaspoons of chia seeds in about 1/4 - 1/3 cup of water. While the seeds are soaking make sure to stir them so they don't clump up. Stirring ensures that all the seeds are soaking and prevents them from being a blob of gelatin.

3. Spreading the seeds

You should use a spatula or something similar (you can also use your fingers) to easily spread the seeds. When spreading the seeds, make sure to spread the seeds evenly against the grooves of the planter. This reduces the amount of time it takes to spread the seeds.

My Final Thoughts

Chia Pets are a great product to have in a home. They feel like part of the family now. Although it is an As Seen on TV product, I can assure you that it works. I know that a lot of As Seen On TV products may seem like they don't work, but some of them can be true gems. I hope that the Chia Pet can be an addition to your home.

Best of luck!

Take the poll! - Find the most popular Chia Pets

What is your favorite Chia Pet?

See results

Questions & Answers

    Share your comments here!

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Unhappy Customer 

        11 months ago

        TERRIBLE!!!!!!!! it got moldy and black barely even green!

      • profile image

        Zombette 

        3 years ago

        I received a Chia Zombie for Christmas! It's awesome!

      • Elsie Hagley profile image

        Elsie Hagley 

        4 years ago from New Zealand

        I have never heard of Chia Pets before, but I'm a kid at heart and I would sure love to grow some.

      • Rose A May profile imageAUTHOR

        Rose A May 

        4 years ago

        @SusanDeppner: It's so catchy isn't it?

      • Rose A May profile imageAUTHOR

        Rose A May 

        4 years ago

        @NellyWerff: Just doing my best to add something to the Squidoo community!

      • NellyWerff profile image

        Nelly van der Werff 

        4 years ago from The Netherlands

        I'd never heard of Chia Pets before. Would indeed make a fun gift.Thanks for the review.

      • SusanDeppner profile image

        Susan Deppner 

        4 years ago from Arkansas USA

        Oh, no, now I have "ch-ch-ch-chia" stuck in my head! :) Amazing how chia pets continue to stay popular, especially around the holidays. I'll admit, they're pretty fascinating!

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, dengarden.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://dengarden.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)