Sherwin Williams Paint Reviews

Updated on July 28, 2017

Best House Paint

Some people are convinced Benjamin Moore is the best. They do have excellent paints, but they're also pretty expensive. Sherwin Williams also sells quality paints and stains at more affordable prices.

I have used almost all of the Sherwin Williams paints at one time or another. This article provides a few Sherwin Williams paint reviews. The reviews are based on a few of their paints that I use the most.

ProMar 200

ProMar 200 is my most widely used paint for walls because the price is reasonable and it provides a quality paint finish. The eggshell finish, if rolled on walls properly, does not leave roller marks. The cost is between $24 to $30 per gallon, depending on the finish selected. A flat finish is the cheapest and gloss is the most expensive.

ProMar 200 is the only paint I recommend from the ProMar brand at Sherwin Williams. Stay away from ProMar 400 and ProMar 700 because the coverage is terrible as well as the quality of the paint.

There is also a newer zero voc ProMar 200 paint and I highly recommend it. It only costs an extra $1 to $2 per gallon and there are no hazardous paint fumes. The paint also dries a lot faster than regular house paint, so you can begin applying the second coat shortly after painting the first coat. I use zero voc paint a lot and I've been very pleased with it.

SuperPaint

I use interior SuperPaint for walls in high end homes and I prefer exterior SuperPaint for most of my exterior paint jobs. The cost is roughly $35 per gallon. SuperPaint is a great exterior paint, but if you're repainting the inside of your home, ProMar 200 will do just fine and it will save you money. If you pay the extra price for SuperPaint though, it is better than ProMar 200, in terms of quality.

SuperPaint covers very well. It is possible to get away with only 1 coat if the color you're painting is similar to the old paint color underneath, but I don't recommend painting only 1 coat for exterior application.

The durability of SuperPaint is very good, especially for exterior painting. I highly recommend it for aluminum siding and it's great for painting over previously painted wood. It is backed by a 25-year warranty.

CHB

CHB is great for ceilings. Even though the label on the can says 'wall paint', you can paint it on ceilings too and it looks excellent. I have painted dozens of ceilings with CHB and it's by far one of the best paints I have ever used for ceilings. It doesn't dry in a shiny finish or leave roller marks like Behr ceiling paint does.

In newly constructed homes, paint contractors and builders often use CHB to paint the first coat on bare drywall. CHB is cheap and works great for hiding imperfections on drywall. It dries in a completelty flat finish and makes old ceilings look brand new. If you like ceiling paint to be completely flat, without the shiny look, there is absolutely no sheen in the CHB paint finish.

There is no reason to spend a lot of money on ceiling paint, especially since some of the expensive ceiling paints leave roller marks (Behr paint). However, if you think you'll need to clean your ceilings, don't buy CHB because it doesn't clean easy without leaving marks and if you like shiny paint on the ceiling then buy something else. DO NOT paint CHB on walls, unless you're a landlord looking for a cost-effective way to repaint your rental unit.

You won't find CHB on the shelf at a Sherwin Williams store, but they have it in the back of the store. Ask the store clerk.

Duration

If you want your exterior paint finish to last for years, Duration paint is definitely a good choice. The problem is that it costs at least $50 per gallon. I don't use it very often for my business due to the cost, but I have used it a few times and I thought it was excellent paint.

The coverage is great and Duration is self-priming over previously painted surfaces. It is important to know though that Duration cannot be used as a primer over bare wood outside. It is only self-priming over a previouly painted surface. For bare wood, you will have to apply an oil-based primer before applying Duration.

Duration is extremely durable, which is why the product is backed by a lifetime warranty. If you plan to live in your home for a long time and you need to repaint the outside, it makes sense to spend the money on this paint if you can afford it, but if you want to save money and still use a durable paint, choose SuperPaint instead. Your paint finish will last.

Questions & Answers

  • We are trying to decide between ProMar 200 and their pre-catalyzed epoxy for walls in a dance studio and lobby. Price is an issue with the epoxy - thoughts on whether going with the ProMar will be ok? Will eggshell fine for either?

    I wouldn't use ProMar 200 for the walls in your studio. My article is a little outdated. Although I've never used the epoxy you referenced, it will be far more durable than ProMar 200.

  • If you no longer use ProMar 200 interior paint, then what do you now use?

    I use Duration a lot. Cashmere is good too. For cabinets and trim, I've been very pleased with Emerald Urethane. All from Sherwin Williams.

  • My painter used ProMar 200 on my walls. It covered my family room wall well, but there are roller marks on my hallway walls. They were repainted, but there are still roller marks. What's the problem? We used the same color but a different can of paint.

    ProMar 200 isn't the greatest paint to begin with. I don't use this paint anymore. My article is quite old and outdated. Different factors could have caused the roller marks, but it's possible the paint hadn't fully cured yet in between coats, or a low-quality paint roller was used. Rolling technique also plays a role. If the painter didn't roll correctly or rolled back into drying paint, this will definitely leave noticeable roller marks on doors and walls.

  • Price check from state to state, mine being Illinois Let's say super paint interior flat price being $26 a gallon as a contractor. What is the price in your state?

    I'm not sure of the current price on Super Paint interior because I haven't used this product for a long time, but you can call a Sherwin Williams store and ask.

  • I am trying to decide between Resilience and Super Paint for the exterior of the Northwest? Have you used either or both outdoor paints?

    I used Super Paint for my exterior painting for many years without any issues. It's a good paint, but upgrading to Duration will give you added durability. The paint is thicker and resists peeling better. I haven't used Resilience, but I've been told it's a good product for painting in moist conditions. If it's rainy a lot where you live, Resilience might be the better choice. Supposedly, rain the same day of application won't harm the paint.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Matt G. profile imageAUTHOR

      Matt G. 

      2 months ago

      Jesse,

      I use Duration for interior and exterior painting. Cashmere is also good. For cabinet and trim painting, I use Emerald urethane. For ceilings, I like Eminence flat.

    • Matt G. profile imageAUTHOR

      Matt G. 

      2 months ago

      Kristin,

      I haven't used Sher Scrub, but if the paint is a flat finish, which I believe it is, I wouldn't recommend it if you want washable walls. I would go with Duration in the matte, or satin finish, or use Cashmere. Both are good paints that are washable.

    • profile image

      Kristin McGrane 

      2 months ago

      Has anyone ever used the SW Sher Scrub? Do you know if it is washable? Any other thoughts? My contractor wants to use this on my house and I am not sure....

    • profile image

      Jesse 

      3 months ago

      Hi matt. What will u Recomend to use to paint walls now in 2018

    • Matt G. profile imageAUTHOR

      Matt G. 

      3 months ago

      Dianne,

      ProMar 200 is a lower quality Sherwin Williams paint. I wrote this article many years ago and it's outdated. I rarely use the ProMar line anymore, but some folks like this paint.

    • Matt G. profile imageAUTHOR

      Matt G. 

      3 months ago

      CE,

      Correct. Their paint pricing is now available on the Sherwin Williams website. They have good sales events throughout the year too. Most are 30% to 40% off. I did one recently for 50% off stain.

    • profile image

      CE 

      3 months ago

      These are contractor prices or sale prices. Not list prices. And some of them are contractor paints which means unless you have a contractor account you don’t get them for those prices.

    • profile image

      Dianne Maxfield, Ft Collins, CO 

      4 months ago

      My painter used the Sherwin Williams paint Pro Mar 200, recommended by Customer Service. The color wasn’t mixed right and the coverage was poor. My painter said it was bad paint at the outset, but we had already purchased. Painter recommends Diamond Vogel. Never again Sherwin Williams!

    • profile image

      Fran Quinn 

      6 months ago

      My painter used Promar 200 on my family room and hallway. The family room turned out great. But hallway showed roller marks and streaks. He repainted hallway again. It still showed roller marks. Is it possible the paint was mixed improperly?

    • profile image

      wayne 

      9 months ago

      has anyone used any PPG products, they have some really decent stuff and very cost effective better then Sherwin Williams. Nothing was better then gool ole Duron products though when SW took over things went downhill fast they kept changing the labels and formulas for all their products and i just hate their customer service. Painter for over 30 yrs

    • profile image

      Mike 

      12 months ago

      Superpaint for $35 in what market??..usually that stuff sells for $50-60 and not better than Ben Moore' s Ben Line of paints. Also Coronado line of paints which Ven Moore sells covers much better than promar 400 any day, even Glidden Paint/primer flat or flat/matte will do better.

    • profile image

      jack straw 

      14 months ago

      i have used Behr, Sherwin Williams, Dutch Boy and Benjamin Moore, Valspar and off brand names.

      Benjamin Moore is the best value and covers great.

      Interior professionally painted and after 17 years I just wash it with TSP and it looks like new. Stained the cedar outside and it covers in one coat after prepping with TSP. Looks great.

      Behr takes 2 coats to get the coverage BM has.

      Sherwin Williams is like Behr. cheap paint.

      Dutch Boy is excellent but expensive. One prject didn't stack up and had to touch up spots. I use primer, scape, prime, TSP, paint.

      I apprenticed for a union painter.

      Valspar is like Ace paint, depends on the project I wouldn't use it for my house. Ok for bird house.

      I like rustoleum spray paint for metal and outdoor patio furniture.

    • profile image

      Maxrhj 

      2 years ago

      I am a long time user of Sherwin Williams paints after having used Kelly Moore for a number of years. I tend to use a mix of Promar 400 and Promar 200 with the walls being the Promar 400 flat and doors / trim being the Promar 200 satin or semi gloss. Makes a really nice job for a good cost / quality ratio.

      Many ask me why flat paint to which I respond that no wall is perfect but very much the opposite with flaws and multiple bumps and bulges. Even new walls tend to have bad tape and texturing anymore. Flat paint simply hides those imperfections where satin or gloss paints tend to highlight them. The more sheen the more the flaws show up. Many will say the gloss paints will wash better but with a good paint any wall will wash well which is another reason I like the Promar brand. Great durability and will not wash off.

    • profile image

      Tamra McGee 

      2 years ago

      I always use Sherwin Williams paint. I recently used some old paint I had in my basement that was left over from seventeen years ago. It was a type of paint they do not carry anymore, but it was off-white satin, which was on the wall originally and I just wanted to freshen up the room. One coat did it. I have enough left over for the hallway as well. My local store could not believe it worked.

    • profile image

      zero voc exterior paint 

      6 years ago

      There are even recipes you can find online or in books that show you how to make your own natural paints.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, dengarden.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://dengarden.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)