Home ImprovementRemodelingCleaningGardeningLandscapingInterior DesignHome AppliancesPest ControlDecks & PatiosSwimming Pools & Hot TubsGaragesBasements

Serta Rest 3" Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper - a consumer review

Updated on April 5, 2016
Back pain takes away from creativity and other aspects of life.
Back pain takes away from creativity and other aspects of life. | Source

The Problem

In recent months I’ve suffered from pain in my right hip and mid to lower back. I attribute this to age, having a sedentary job (writing), having put on some pounds and lack of exercise to lubricate my joints. I sit on a high density cell foam donut as I write this. The donut relieves pressure from the coccyx, something I learned when I was pregnant many moons ago. I’ve learned to contort my body to the left when I rise from a sitting position in order for the pain in my hip to not bring me to my knees. Not fun!

Having this condition checked out by a doctor is out of the question. When I retired from the corporate world I also relinquished my rights to company paid health insurance. So I make do. However, sitting is not my only uncomfortable position. Although I bought a new mattress recently, I awaken with a sore back and my right hip screams with every movement. Do I need to tell you I’ve not been sleeping well? Oh, I guess I just did. The fact is I sleep in 3-hour shifts because my body wakes me up. Oh, what I would give for just one night of uninterrupted sleep!

Something had to be done. I can’t afford medical diagnosis or treatment. Going through Advil like candy is not good for my innards and doesn’t fix the problem anyway. Buying one of those high end mattresses that “have your number” is also out of the question. So, what does a not-so-young-but-not-so-old struggling writer do to alleviate the pain? Ingenuity is the answer, my friends; that and watching the paper for sales on mattress toppers.

Is this the relief I need?
Is this the relief I need? | Source

The Solution

Sometimes commercialism comes in handy. It seems everything under the sun goes on sale just before holidays. Memorial day is one of those holidays. My local Big Lots had a flyer in Sunday’s paper. They advertised a ‘famous maker’ 3” gel memory foam mattress topper for queen beds at a doable $99.99. The next day I went to Big Lots in hopes I wasn’t too late. Sure enough, they had plenty in stock and the ‘famous maker’ turned out to be Serta. Well, shoot, if the sheep on TV fear Serta because the public no longer has need to count them (the sheep) in order to go to sleep, that’s enough reason for this little girl to give the brand a shot. Not only did I make the purchase, but I treated myself to a new set of sheets (in my favorite color, although it doesn’t match my bedding!).

I came home excited that, perhaps, I can now get a good night’s sleep. I rolled out the Serta Rest 3” gel memory foam topper and encapsulated it in the accompanying fitted cover (thank you Serta!). I spent the rest of the day washing bedding, including my comforter. I was really looking forward to bedtime! Although, by the looks of my freshly-made bed, I’d need a step stool to get my 5’2” body up on the bed and under the covers!

Looks promising!
Looks promising! | Source

Features

Upon reading the instructions (yes, I read the instructions. My name is Shauna, not Shaun!) I was a little disconcerted to discover it may take up to 72 hours for the mattress topper to conform to my bed. I was absolutely delighted when it rolled out flat and fit my bed perfectly! The comfort gods were definitely on my side.

In addition to that, I was elated when I read that the gel in the foam is formulated to be cool and regulates itself to your body temperature. As a post-menopausal woman, I still suffer from night sweats. Well, not really night sweats so much anymore as night heat. That’s another reason I don’t sleep comfortably. I need to have my bedding cold in order to sleep well. It’s a good damn thing I sleep alone; my queen size bed allows me to switch sides when I become too hot – which is another reason I don’t sleep well. By the way, when does that shit end??

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that this product is made in the USA. Way to go, Serta!


I might need a step-stool to get into bed!
I might need a step-stool to get into bed! | Source

My rating of this product

5 stars for Serta Rest 3" Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper

What say you?

Do you suffer from back pain?

See results

One more time

What do you do to alleviate back pain?

See results

The Result

I’ve only spent two nights on my new set up, but I am tickled to death with the results. I have awakened just once each night - which is a blessing - and I’ve been able to go right back to sleep. Unfortunately, my body puts out some heat when I’m trying to sleep. Nevertheless, the gel memory foam topper is living up to its promise. The verbiage on the box reads “adds support and comfort – eliminates pressure points”. I can attest to that. In a mere two nights, my pain is at a much lower level. I no longer have to contort my body when I get up from the couch in order to avoid pain in my right hip.

Now, if the night heat I still experience would just go bother someone else, I’d be a completely satisfied customer. But that’s not Serta’s problem, is it?

If any of you reading this experience discomfort while you sleep for any of the reasons I have mentioned, I highly recommend Serta Rest 3” Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper. It’s an inexpensive solution to what could turn into an expensive and debilitating problem.

Try it and rest easy. I did and I now rest when I sleep.

Disclaimer

I am neither an employee of, nor have I been compensated by Serta to post this review. I am merely passing on what I feel is valuable information.

Peace,

Bravewarrior



Shauna L Bowling

Copyright © May 2013

All Rights Reserved

Lullaby and Goodnight

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Margaret Schindel profile image

      Margaret Schindel 3 months ago from Massachusetts

      Thanks, Sha! Our mattress is pretty shot after 10+ years, so we need to replace it anyway. But it's great to know that the gel memory foam really is cooling and that it's not just a marketing gimmick (which my husband thought it might be). Great review!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 months ago from Central Florida

      Margaret, I no longer have night sweats. Thankfully, menopause is now a not-so-fond memory.

      I love my topper. I don't wake up in pain and it does offer cooling comfort while I sleep. I recommend you try this topper before putting money out for a full-blown mattress and see how well it works for you.

      Keep me posted!

    • Margaret Schindel profile image

      Margaret Schindel 4 months ago from Massachusetts

      Sha, great review! My husband and I both have back pain (and I have hip pain as well), and we've found that sleeping on a memory foam mattress has made a huge difference. But ours is 10 years old and isn't as resilient as it was when it was a "spring chicken." ;) So we're in the market for a replacement. I tend to be cold when I'm tired, so I have the covers up to my chin even in fairly warm weather, but then wake up sweating in the middle of the night. So I've been wanting to try a gel memory foam mattress this time, which is supposed to be cooling. I know this gel memory foam topper hasn't taken away your night sweats (that would be a tall order for any product!), but I'd love to know whether you've found that you're any cooler at night since you've been using this topper. Inquiring minds want to know - thanks very much! Looking forward to your answer. :)

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 6 months ago from Central Florida

      Kay, I agree. This topper has made all the difference in the world as far as quality of sleep. Not only does it help my back, but it doesn't get hot during the night. I even use a cool gel pillow. To me there's nothing more uncomfortable than getting hot and sweaty while I sleep.

    • profile image

      Kay Armondi 6 months ago

      We bought the same mattress topper from Big Lots and Love It...We both have bad backs and this really helps. Thank God for a good nights sleep.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 12 months ago from Central Florida

      Julie, I have no experience with the mattress you purchased, so can't offer any advice. However, with the topper I review in this article, I can tell you it retains its shape. I, too, sleep alone and am free to use the entire surface of my bed. I also had pain in my hip and lower back until I bought this topper. I've been pain free ever since. What's nice about the topper is you can use the egg crate side or the flat side. Mine is egg crate side up and I love it. I would suggest you give it a try. For a minimal investment, you may just find you've solved your problem.

    • profile image

      JULIE 12 months ago

      I haven't seen my problem answered yet, so here goes. I have a Serta Perfect Sleeper Gel Top mattress and find I have indentations in it since the first month I got it, now it is about 8 months old. Went on site about Serta Mattresses and everyone hates them and the company will not stand up to the warranty. I am pretty sure I can't turn this mattress over, that is why I was looking things up to begin with and saw your review. The gel part is what is making gullys and valleys in the mattress and I am not sure if the egg crate top on the topper will be enough to help. I am in such pain with my right hip and back since I got the new mattress and will try anything for relief, but will I be getting the same thing in a topper???? I have a king size bed and sleep alone, so I have plenty of room to move around in. I do have it rotated about once a month and really just want to know if I can turn it over on the other side, but feel with the gel top I can't do it. Does anyone know? Also do you think it would help because of the egg crate attached to the topper?

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 21 months ago from Central Florida

      Diane, I wasn't aware of the toxicity issue until I read Beckie's comment. I'm a pretty "green" person and make an effort to keep away from toxic materials. That said, I've been sleeping on this topper since 2013 and have not had any symptoms of toxicity. I have the topper inside the case that's provided plus a mattress cover over that. I don't know if Beckie's claim is valid or not. All I know is I feel better all over now that I'm sleeping on this topper. I sleep comfortably, and the coolness of the topper was a godsend when I was going through menopausal night sweats. I'd say the topper is a far better option over taking medication for back pain or night sweats. How 'bout you?

    • profile image

      Diane 21 months ago

      So, I jut bought one of these tonight for our new King bed. We had one on our Queen bed (not this brand) and I knew I wanted a topper on this one. I always shop at Big Lots and purchased it there this evening, then came home and did a price comparison to see what it sold for elsewhere. Started reading reviews on Amazon and got concerned by one; probably Beckie above, as it stated the same thing. All other reviews were good. Should I be concerned about this toxicity issue?

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 23 months ago from Central Florida

      Tommy, I am sooooo glad this review was integral in finding an affordable way to treat your back pain. Thank you for sharing. You've made my day!

      Enjoy yours and continue to sleep well.

    • profile image

      Tommy 23 months ago

      Awesome review, because it is spot on! I bought it from big lots (never even been in a big lots before lol) and I absolutely love it. Was in a bad car wreck and have so many problems with my hip and back. This is helping me sleep and not wake up with too much pain. Your review made me buy this and try it out, and although I was skeptical, I'm glad I did. Thank you so much!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Nadine, I've had mine for two years now and it's still doing its job and has more than paid for itself. Good luck! I hope this topper is available in your area. If not, maybe one of the online stores offers shipping to SA.

    • Nadine May profile image

      Nadine May 2 years ago from Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

      GREAT review on a product! We are in the same situation. No medical insurance. I do know what causes my lower back pain....and I do what I can to deal with it. Our yoga teacher lives next door and I have a indoor trampoline bouncier. Not that I step on it often enough. When I write, or are working on a book cover time seems to fly by and before I know it hours have past. My body has not moved from my computer chair.This mattress topper sounds like a solution for me, but if I can get in in Cape Town is another story. I will do some investigation. Thanks for sharing.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      You're welcome, gram!

    • profile image

      gramof4 2 years ago

      Thanks. I have to flip it over. Thanks.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Gram, the bumps go up. Those are what you lie on to relieve stress on your back.

    • profile image

      gramof4 2 years ago

      I didn't get directions.

      Do the bumps go up or down. Loving it. I put the smooth side up.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      That's interesting, Beckie. I've been sleeping on mine for two years now and haven't had any problems.

    • profile image

      Beckie 2 years ago

      Be careful. Our son and others, according to research, are suffering seizures, headaches, chronic joint pain, and other health issues since starting to use these gel toppers. They have toxins that can be damaging because they are breathed in while sleeping.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Ludibell, it wasn't hard, but it was very firm and stiff. Once you have it unfolded and laid out on the mattress, it mellows out. I would suggest letting it rest on your bed for a bit then lie on it and see how it feels. If it's not the right fit for you, return it.

    • profile image

      Ludiebell 2 years ago

      I just purchased my King size topper at Big Lots this afternoon, but when my husband & I removed it from the box, it was so hard and felt rigid that I told him to roll it back up and I'll take it back tomorrow...Is that how it feels when you remove it from the box? Does it get softer after unrolling it? I have a 3 inch memory foam topper on my brand new hard Beauty Rest mattress and I'm in pain every single day. So, will this soften up enough for me to enjoy it and not be in pain? Those of you who have bought one, please post a comment and let me know...thanks!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Cheers, Jean! I was on my new mattress for less than a year before I decided to try the Serta topper. Another $300+ versus $99 was a no-brainer for me.

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 2 years ago

      I think she said their mattress was only a year old and was already denting no matter how much she turned it or how often. I've never been on my actual mattress - no need since I have the topper. Blessings, my dear. Here's to several more years of comfort!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, I'm so pleased to hear your feedback. I've had my topper for almost two years and haven't had to turn it as I had to do with traditional egg crate toppers. I still have not tried the pillow. I mean to, but haven't seen it on sale in a while. The one time I did see a sale on the pillow, they were out. Silly me, I should have asked for a rain check!

      Thanx for sending this to your neighbors. I'm sure they'll be as pleased as we are and be prompted to buy the topper. It's certainly cheaper than buying a new mattress. When we test-drive mattresses in the store, we don't get a true feel for how they will work through a night's sleep.

      I thought I'd made a good decision when I bought my new mattress. I was so wrong! There was no way I was going to buy another new mattress after putting out the money, so I tried the Serta Gel Memory Foam topper.

      Boy, am I ever glad I did!

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 2 years ago

      I am still loving my topper after all this time. The pillow, too. I have seen some complaints about the pillow not being large enough. I bought mine online from Sears, and it is large - as wide as my Queen pillows. Maybe they come in different sizes. Anyway, I'm happy happy happy. I'm also sending my neighbor to your website so she can check things out. They are having trouble with mattress "divets."

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Jane, I'm so glad you decided not to return the topper and that you love it.

      I have not tried the pillow yet. Big Lots had them on sale a while back but were sold out when I got there. Maybe Santa will bring me one.

    • profile image

      Jane 2 years ago

      I had looked at so many of these foam toppers and it is almost impossible to compare one to the other short of just buying them and trying them. I bought this one on a whim when Big Lots had a 20% off everything in the store sale. It sat unopened in my house for several weeks and I was just about to return it when I found your review. I thought since it was so inexpensive compared to most of them, this one probably wasn't very good. But your review convinced me to give it a try and I am very glad I did. I had a 3 in memory foam topper my husband got about 4 years ago. I loved it for the comfort but have hot flashes at night and felt it was a contributing factor to them since I never have them during the day. I was hoping that the gel in the foam might help alleviate them. I have had this on my bed for about 3 months now and am pleased with it. I still have the hot flashes at times but don't think they are nearly as often or as severe. Maybe it is the gel foam or the egg crate pattern allows better air flow around my skin, or maybe it is just a coincidence or time. I don't know. The bottom line is, this is a great deal on a gel memory foam topper. The price is great, it is VERY comfortable, and the minor foam smell dissipates with in 4-6 hrs of opening it. If you watch the ads, two or three times a year Big Lots has a 20% off sale on the whole store and you can even get a better than usual deal on it. And I recycled my still in great shape, older memory foam topper to my 22 yr old daughter since she shouldn't be having hot flashes for a few years.

      Did you try the pillow? I am curious about them also.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Peggster, it has a smell when you first take it out of the box but it goes away quickly. In fact, I didn't smell anything but clean sheets the first night I slept on it.

      All I can say is give it a shot. Check the return policy with your store. Chances are the topper will strike a happy medium between you and your husband and you won't find the need to return it.

    • profile image

      peggster 2 years ago

      Hi there, I am in kohl's right this minute trying to decide if I should purchase this product! I have read all the reviews nd they sound wonderful! Does this topper have a smell to it? We just purchased a firm bed and it's killing me! My husband loves it and I don't. If I get the topper will he hate it? I too have fibromyalgia, and sjogren's syndrome and spondylitis arthritis. I have so much pain! What's a girl to do????

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Maria, you're too funny. However, this review is completely sincere. I've had the topper now for a year and a half and I still stand by my words. It's wonderful. I haven't had back pain since I bought it.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Mike, I've slept on regular foam egg crates and I have to agree with you - they don't provide comfort. However, this gel foam topper retains its shape and density. I find it quite a relief.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      I agree Paula. I'd say John needs a nap. Or a lesson in polite behavior.

    • marcoujor profile image

      Maria Jordan 2 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

      Sha,

      How could I have missed this...was I asleep on my "Serta Rest 3" Gel Memory Foam Mattress"...?

      Interesting how many positive comments and folks who have truly benefited from this product. Your review is honorable, detailed and sincere...just like you.

      You even handle the odd and idiotic comment in a dignified manner.

    • mckbirdbks profile image

      mckbirdbks 2 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hi Sha, as it happens I worked at a place that made these eggcrates for use by bedridden hospital patience to slow the advance of bed sores. R & D proved they do not work on 'Grumpy Old Men' who know about the weights of foam and has time to research manufacturers webpages in order to comment on a customer review. It is a small subset of the population.

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 2 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Sha......Poor John.....looks like he never gets enough sleep and also gets "out on the wrong side of the bed."

      I wonder if he actually had a point to his useless comment? The only obvious point is that he's rather rude and uninteresting. Such a waste of time.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      John, in re-reading this I do see where I mention I left the corporate world. I apologize for my former accusation with that regard. However, I maintain the rest of my argument.

      To be honest, I would love for Serta to contact me regarding this post and offer me a writing job. However, that hasn't happened and - again - that's not why I wrote this review.

      Why don't you start your own site where you can post your rants and accusations? Maybe you'll feel better and will better be able to communicate with the rest of the world and yourself.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      John, if I were paid by Serta this review would be on their site. You won't find it on Big Lots' site either. This is an honest review by someone who found an inexpensive fix for back pain. Notice I don't link to either site.

      I was compelled to write this review because it made a positive impact on my life.

      The egg shells are not 'spikes'. I'm sorry your body reacts to them negatively.

      Your comment about me leaving the corporate world tells me you've read some of my other posts. This one certainly doesn't reveal that aspect of my life.

      I'm sorry you are so bitter and feel the need to blow your smoke on others. Not everyone will be happy with the products they purchase. Try blowing smoke in the mirror when you shave every morning.

      Perhaps you should leave your negative comment on Serta's site and not accuse me of ill will. This is MY review based on MY non-compensated experience.

      Like it or lump it. If you lump it, do so where it'll get some traction.

    • profile image

      John Burten 2 years ago

      How much did this company pay you because you can't even find this POS on Serta own site. How telling is that? I bought one of these and I ended up turning it upside down to avoid the stupid spikes. You can't even find out the weight of the foam nor does the sleep like the dead website even mention it. I guess since leaving the corporate world a little extra income is needed.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      The eggshell side goes up, Janie. If you bought one, you'll love it!

    • profile image

      janie 2 years ago

      i know this is a crazy question but does the flat side go up or the eggt shell side?

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      Donna, I'm sorry to hear about your accident. I hope this topper helps. Come back and let me know!

    • profile image

      Donna 2 years ago

      After a rollover collision a few tears ago I learned I have degenerative disc disease. Some weeks are good, some not so much. During a bad week I came across your review after spending numerous hours online searching for the perfect topper and today I took the plunge. Big Lots is about 2 mikes from my home and they had one King size left--it was mine!!! The King size is $119.00--still cheaper than anything I found online. I just took it out and put it on the bed--fits beautifully and I have the enclosed cover in the laundry as I write. Hopefully my lower back and hip pain will be helped by this. Thanks for your review!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Amy, I noticed in yesterday's paper Big Lots has a Serta Gel Memory Foam pillow on sale. I just may go pick one up. It'll be nice to have a cool pillow under my head while sleeping on this awesome topper.

    • profile image

      Amy 3 years ago

      Came across your review after I purchased this topper at Big Lots today(LOVE me some Big Lots!!) just out of curiosity, and to see how it held up over time. I'm glad to see yours is still good as new!! Looking forwards to many nights of feeling like I'm sleeping in an upscale hotel :)

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      You're welcome, Ashley. I like that it retains its shape. I've had mine for over a year now and there are no body dents in the topper. I also love that it's cool. There's nothing worse than being hot while you're trying to sleep.

      I'm so glad you like your topper! What an easy, inexpensive fix to an uncomfortable mattress, huh?

    • profile image

      Ashley 3 years ago

      This topper is amazing!! It feels like a completely new mattress! The memory foam forms perfectly to your body, but isn't too soft. I'm in love with this! Definitely worth the money! Thanks for the suggestions!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Ashoey, I certainly hope your mind slept well last night and not your arms! Please do come back and let me know how this topper is working for you. I love mine. It's the best $99 I've ever spent!

    • profile image

      Ashoey 3 years ago

      Just bought this mattress topper from Big Lots! Excited to read so many good reviews . My current mattress is so hard my arms fall asleep when I'm on my side. I will be using it tonight and will follow up with a review. Thanks for the suggestions! It made choosing one so much easier!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Drew, this is the best mattress topper I've tried also. I've used egg crates in the past and they really did nothing for me. I love this one. You're right - it's a great value. I'm glad it's working well for you.

    • profile image

      Drew 3 years ago

      Had this foam mattress topper for about a month and it has been very good. I have owned at least 4 matress toppers before ranging from 1 inch to 4 inches. This 3 inch matress is just right with the appropriate foam density for my needs. I feel as if im floating with this foam topper and no ppressure points. Lower back feels great in the morning. Awesome value overall and got minr at Big Lot. Thanks for starting this blog.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Thanx Justafriend. I don't get the night sweats anymore. Nor the hot flashes. I suppose I've gone through the whole menopausal cycle. Thank goodness!

    • profile image

      Justafriend 3 years ago

      For the night sweats try macca root. If u have a whole foods or an earthfare near u or any other health food store they have it there. Get pure macca root powder u just use a teaspoon or so mix it in juice. Night sweats gone. Very inexpensive

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Joe, this worked for me. A queen size topper is $99.99 at Big Lots. It's well worth the price. I haven't seen it cheaper anywhere else. Give it a shot.

    • joedolphin88 profile image

      Joe 3 years ago from north miami FL

      My back has been killing me lately on my mattress. A topper may be helpful in keeping me asleep through the night.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, I'm so glad it's working for you. I found the relief to be instant. I had trouble sleeping though the night also. I still don't sleep a full 8 hours without waking up, but I can go about 4 which is better than before!

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 3 years ago

      I see it has been 5 weeks since I put the gel topper on and took the other topper off. I no longer need a step stool to get onto the bed, I just stand on my tippy toes. The big news is that for the past week I have slept through the night, I'd say 5-6 hours on average. I had been waking up every 2 hours on average before. I am happy, happy, happy. Thank you for your review that sent me to find this. Btw, the other topper, the wrong one, is rolled up and covered up in the basement. Neighbor didn't want it. Those of you with new beds or toppers: give them a few weeks to get used to. For some, the comfort is instant, and for others it takes a few weeks. I felt the comfort instantly, but the sleep extension took a few weeks. Oh, the cat is still thrilled, too. She has lots of places to choose from to snooze and still get rubbed and petted by me, so she gives this a thumbs up, too. :-)

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, I'm thrilled for you and your cat! I love mine, too. You are so welcome. I'm glad I was able to help. I know I always check consumer reviews before I buy something and I prefer not to read the reviews from the manufacturer's site. Real reviews from real (non-paid) people are what counts in my book.

    • profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 3 years ago

      I finally got the 4-inch Serta foam off my bed and put the gel topper on. Oh, what a difference! I love it! My cat loves it! We sort of fight for our spots since there is so much more room than the couch we'd been sleeping on. Thank you SO MUCH for your review. I'd have never tried this gel topper if I hadn't read it and the comments. My body thanks you. I would have never guessed there would be such a difference.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      It doesn't feel bumpy, mugsylover. You can feel the texture, but it's actually rather soothing. You can feel it when you rub your hands over it, but not with your back. I don't know if I'm properly conveying what I'm trying to say or not. The texture is not distracting in the least. I love mine!

    • profile image

      mugsylover 3 years ago

      I am concerned about the topper feeling "bumpy". Can you tell me about that?

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Don, I'm so happy the topper is working for you. Now if only Serta would happen upon this review and send me a commission for the sales they've received as the result. LOL :-)

      Seriously, it's a very good product and lives up to its claims. Thanks for taking the time to tell us your story!

    • profile image

      Don Grayson 3 years ago

      Last night was my first night sleeping on a Serta-rest topper. Used it on a foldout bed. I was very happy with the difference. At 225# I ad no shoulder pain. Like I said, last night was my only basis.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      TheDen, your story is a wonderful testament to the value of this product. There's nothing worse than not getting a restful sleep. Well, expect for waking up in pain that is. I'm so glad this product worked for you.

      I can relate to the leg thing; I used to do the same thing. I have to be cool and comfortable when I sleep and this topper provides both.

      I'm so happy you can now sleep comfortably. Hooray!

    • profile image

      THEDEN 3 years ago

      Follow up. I slept on it last night and must say that it was the best choice ever! I let it sit out for about 6 hours, but couldn't wait to try it out. The instructions says that its ok to use it after it opens up, but it does have a synthetic smell. It really did not bother me, and after I got home today, I hardly notice it. I put it in a room with a small space heater to speed up the process, and the next day used my air purifier to try to get as much of the smell out. I slept like a baby! I had a spinal chord injury and could not get comfortable in my bed. I spent $1,000 on a pillow top mattress, but it was too firm. I had a cotton topper on it before, but after 2 washes the seams tore and had to throw it out. With just the mattress, I could not lay on my back, or either side for too long without having pain. I am a side sleeper. After putting the Serta to the test I noticed, that I was comfortable without pain on either side, and actually fell asleep on my back. I also normally have to sleep with one leg out, because I get hot. This pad actually kept me cool! I woke up at 6 in the morning feeling completely refreshed. I normally sleep until 8:30 and have trouble getting up due to the tossing and turning. I highly recommend anyone with pain, tossing, or sleep problems to give this a shot. At $99.00 at Big Lots was worth every penny. Thank you again bravewarrior for the recommendation and review!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Good for you, theden! Big Lots carries this topper all the time. I haven't seen them raise the price since I bought mine almost a year ago. It has definitely given me better quality sleep and eased my back pain tremendously.

    • profile image

      THEDEN 3 years ago

      Thank you so much for posting. I saved a bunch by going to Big Lots today to purchase mine! $99.00 plus tax. I almost bought this online for $150.00 plus tax. I know it will help my back:-)

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Peg, it's much cheaper than buying a new mattress. Actually, I did buy a new mattress, but test riding it in a store doesn't let you know how it feels when you spend 8 hours on it. This topper is awesome. I recommend the cool gel as mentioned in this article. If you like a cool bed when you sleep, this one's the answer.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 3 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Thanks for the run down on this memory top mattress. We've debated about getting memory foam or trying something else, soon. Good to hear about your experience.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, I'm sorry to hear about your physical disabilities. Would your husband not be understanding of your needs? You can return the one you bought online and get a refund. Why wouldn't your husband go to the local store and get what you need?

      Big Lots stores are way much smaller than Wal-Mart. If your husband won't help you, do you have a friend who will?

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 3 years ago

      We have a Big Lots not far from here, but I'm disabled and I don't want my husband to know I've bought another one. It's easier on my body and my nerves to pay a bit more to have it delivered so I can hide it until he's out of the house. I don't know how large the Big Lots stores are, but my back and other body parts are too bad to walk very far. Wal-Mart? Forget it. Grocery store? I pay for those trips for days. I use the shopping carts for walkers. :-) I did take a nap on the bed today - test run for the first time. So far, so good. I had to lie down with the top of my back and scootch my body up pressing my feet against the dresser. I need to wear slick nylon-type jammies, I guess, to make it easier to get in.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, I sure hope you neighbors take the topper you bought by mistake. Do you not have a Big Lots store near you? They have the one I reviewed here in stock all the time. I've yet to see them raise the price.

      At 5'10" you need a step stool to get into bed? My, you just may be the modern day Princess and the Pea! :-)

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 3 years ago

      Shauna, I know it's a topper that goes on the mattress. Luckily for me, the bed frame arrived first, then the mattress and box spring, then the I put the topper on. Unfortunately, I ordered the wrong topper. The one I have is just foam, not gel. I took the easy way out and ordered the gel one from Amazon today and paid more for it just so I'd have it and have it delivered. Maybe my neighbor will take the old one since I haven't even slept on it yet and they just got new beds. You should see my bed. I had to order a step stool to get onto it. I measured, and it is 34" high to get onto the bed. The bottom of my butt doesn't reach that high, even though I'm 5'10" - or used to be. I even ordered the low profile box spring. I'd need stilts if I'd gotten the regular box spring. Anyway, I now have the softest pillowtop Sealy bed they make (an 8) and should be getting the gel topper Thursday and be happy, happy, happy. THANK YOU!! (Oh, I never did hear from Big Lots.)

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, this is not a mattress. It's a topper that fits on top of your existing mattress. I've seen Big Lots commercials for the Presidents' Day promotion. I've seen the topper that I review in this article for the same price repeatedly: $99 for a 3" queen size topper - and they are in stock. You'll have to go to your nearest Big Lots if you want to purchase the topper in addition to the mattress (from what you're telling me).

      I don't want you to be confused between the mattress and the topper. They are two different sleep choices. I chose the topper because I'd already bought a new mattress (not a Serta) and I was attracted to the cooling quality. I made a good decision in buying the topper.

      Thank you for sending this link to your friends. Please also send them my response to your comment. I don't want the topper to be confused with a mattress. It's an enhancement (that works great to alleviate back pain) but it is not a replacement for a mattress.

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 3 years ago

      Big Lots has a sale Feb 17th and 18th of Serta Mattresses. They show the topper online, but it says you have to buy it in store instead of on their website. I just wrote to ask if they'll have any toppers. My new bed will be here Monday, and just in case I want the topper to add. I've sent your link to several friends who are considering new mattresses or complaining of back pain and their beds. Thank you so much for your review and comments! I'm thrilled to be getting off the sofa.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Dr. Taylor, you won't regret it! By all means, go to Big Lots; you'll save a lot of money.

    • profile image

      Folake Taylor, MD. 3 years ago

      OK. Was about to purchase a similar one from Overstock.com. Might just drive to Big Lots and get this one. I have back and hip pain as well. Thanks.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      WiccanSage, your bed sounds awesome. Is the gel topper one that stays cool? I love that feature in mine. I can't stand being hot while I sleep. When I bought the topper I was still suffering night sweats so it was a great relief to have something cool against my skin. I agree with you - foam is the way to go.

      Thanx for your feedback. I'm sure your comment will help all who suffer from back pain and read this review.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Ben, I would imagine the entire mattress would be awesome on the back. Especially if it holds up as well as the topper. If you buy one, come back and let me know how it worked for you.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Rebecca, my mattress was doing me more harm than good and it's not even 2 years old. I'd wake up so achy every morning. A hot shower helped but only temporarily. The topper has done the trick and saved me a lot of money in the long run.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Nell, I don't know if Serta is available in the UK. I would imagine it is. If you can find the item reviewed in this post, you won't be sorry. It really has made a difference with me. No more pain!

    • WiccanSage profile image

      Mackenzie Sage Wright 3 years ago

      I got a memory foam bed with gel topper-- it was like 'where have you been all my life?" I love it. The gel foam works pretty well, and the bed is so comfortable. I think the trick is the density & the thickness-- you have to get pretty high density and I was told to get one at least 12 inches thick (mine is 15 inches), but it is awesome. I was getting so sick of spring mattresses giving out... I've had mine now for about 8 months and love it. It wasn't a serta but I highly recommend the foam.

    • Ben Zoltak profile image

      Ben Zoltak 3 years ago from Lake Mills, Jefferson County, Wisconsin USA

      Very interesting, I just don't see the topper doing the trick for me. I would like the whole mattress, which I see on one of your ads, they are a little less costly than I thought!

      Great review!

      Ben

    • rebeccamealey profile image

      Rebecca Mealey 3 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

      This is a terrific and valuable product review. So many people have back problems it seems. The answer could surely lie in their mattress. Thanks!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 3 years ago from England

      That's great! thanks for pointing me in the right direction, and yes my pain is similar to yours! right hip and lower back! I will definitely get one of these, I just looked at your amazon one, but its as you said in america, so i will have to look for the equivalent over here, but brilliant! voted up and shared! nell

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      You did it right. Crates go up. Did yours come with a zipper enclosure to put over the pad? I'm so glad you like it. I love mine and it hasn't lost its shape at all. Maybe Serta will hire us as official spokespeople. :-)

    • profile image

      Laurie 3 years ago

      I purchased it yesterday afternoon and slept on it last night. LOVE IT!!! I put the crates up. Is that the proper way to have it, or should they be down?

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Laurie, I got my queen size topper at Big Lots for $99 also. I love it. I no longer awaken with back pain, nor do I have pain thru the day. It really was a good investment. I highly recommend it and no one has this topper for a lower price than Big Lots, from what I've seen.

      Please come back and let me know how you feel after sleeping on the 3" Serta topper.

    • profile image

      Laurie 3 years ago

      Thank you for your review. Big Lots in my city has this topper for $99 (Queen). I'm going purchase mine this afternoon. My mattress, although only 1 1/2 years old, hurts various pressure points. I'm hoping this topper will do the trick without me having to purchase another mattress.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Leah, put the egg crate side up. You'll love this topper. It's the best purchase I've ever made. I haven't had back pain since I bought it. It maintains its shape beautifully. I've been sleeping on it for 6 months now and it is the same as when I first put it on the bed - no body dents or misshaping. The best part is, it's cool. There's nothing worse than being hot while trying to sleep!

      If yours came with a case, be sure to use it. It's really pretty easy to get the topper inside. I was able to do it myself.

      I'm glad you found this review useful. Enjoy your new topper!

    • profile image

      Leah 3 years ago

      First off, thank you for posting your review! I just purchased one today and was excited to see such a positive review! This might be a silly question but when putting the topper into its shell should I have the flat side up or the egg crate like grooves? Or wont it matter either way? Any input would be vey helpful :) thanks!

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Jewels you are very wrong in your statement. I have no problem rolling around on this mattress topper. It does not sink at all. You don't know what you're talking about and your insinuation is not appreciated.

    • profile image

      Jewels 3 years ago

      This bed is the anti-sex bed! Very comfortable but once you are in it you cannot move at it feels like you have been sucked in by quick sand it is literally hard to even roll onto your side or get out of bed makes you feel like you weigh 500 pounds and there is no way you can move in any direction for any hanky Panky so if you are lonely and have back or hip pain this bed is perfect for you

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 4 years ago from Central Florida

      It's worth a try, Crafty and an inexpensive fix. I love my topper. It has kept its shape, is supportive and stays cool. Now I need to find pillows that stay cool so I can quit flopping from one side of the bed to the other looking for a cold pillow!

    • CraftytotheCore profile image

      CraftytotheCore 4 years ago

      This is very interesting. My mother in law has terrible back issues. She doesn't like the bed she has. I wonder if this will be a solution for her.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 4 years ago from Central Florida

      Jean, I've been thru the chills. Menopause seems to have subsided, but we all know it sneaks back up just when you think life is normal again.

      I would advise you to save some money and try the Serta 3" gel memory topper. It's now September 5th and it hasn't lost its form nor comfort. I still toss from one cold pillow to the next, but they make those now too. I still stand by my purchase and this review. If the topper doesn't work for you, you have other options. I don't have a lot of money to keep buying beds or mattresses. This was an option I was willing to spend money on. I'm so glad I did! I no longer have back problems and my bed is so cushiony. The product maintains its integrity. It has no valleys where my body rests. If I were you (and I was!), I'd give it a shot.

    • Jean Miller Ader profile image

      Jean Miller Ader 4 years ago

      Thank you so much for this review. I've been seriously looking at the Sleep Number beds, but what if they don't work? This seems like a good bet. Oh, and just so you know -- I've been having the "night hots" now since 1996. Apparently, they aren't going away for me. Wait until the chills set in. One morning you'll wake up with your teeth chattering and put on as many clothes as you can find; the next, you'll be standing in front of the largest A/C outlet you can find.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 4 years ago from Central Florida

      Kas, I've used the regular egg-crate toppers that dont' do shit but bleed your pocket. This one still works and I love it. If you can find it on sale as I did, even better! I still recommend it even after several weeks of use.

    • Kasman profile image

      Kas 4 years ago from Bartlett, Tennessee

      Great review. I'm thankful to hear your review on this because I've considered getting one of these in the past. I've used toppers in the past that didn't work very well personally so I'm glad you put this in for people like me who are seriously curious.

    • bravewarrior profile image
      Author

      Shauna L Bowling 4 years ago from Central Florida

      Eddy, it's helping me tremendously. Now if I could just get over the night sweats I'd be A-OK!

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 4 years ago from Wales

      This will benefit so many and I suffer with a bad back after two operations.

      A great review and enjoy your weekend.

      Lots of love

      Eddy.