Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray Review

Updated on November 7, 2017
Bedbugabscond profile image

Melody enjoys sharing her personal experiences with others. This is a product review by a customer for a product and was not endorsed.

Hot Shot Bed Bug Spray Bottle

Bottle of bed bug and flea spray.
Bottle of bed bug and flea spray. | Source

Have you used Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray? Rate it!

3 out of 5 stars from 308 ratings of Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray

About the Product

Like most insect sprays it does not take long to know if Hot Shop Bed Bug and Flea is the right spray to kill your offending insects. I first reviewed Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray in 2012. I gave it an honest review, complaining mostly that consumers were not educated about full bed bug removal plans.

To get rid of fleas and bed bugs you need to fully understand how Hot Shot bed bug spray, Hot Shot fogger, and sealing should be used together for bed bugs. To kill fleas you don't need to go so indepth. When you do what the instructions say, it does not take long to kill fleas. It takes longer to kill bed bugs.

Through this review, I hope to illuminate when this is a good spray to use, and when it is not. This product has many negative reviews that mislead people because of vague language used on the product's label.

Spectrum Brand Holdings inc, the manufacturer, has worked diligently to improve their product and to be responsible for helping customers become educated about their infestations. After my reviews, and contacting their helpline, I feel good about this brand.

Reviews used to complain about because they did not understand how to use the product, especially when it comes to bed bugs. I am updating this review so that it continues to provide the latest and most relevant information about this product.

I will go into full detail on what I found to be the best way to use the product, as well as include information on how I increased effectiveness by using Hot Shot products together.

Do you think Hot Shot is a Trustworthy Brand?

See results

Hot Shot Money Back Guarantee

Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray Money Back Guarantee.
Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray Money Back Guarantee. | Source

The Pros and Cons

The Pros

The active ingredient in this spray is permethrin. According to the U.S Environmental Protection Agency, permethrin is an approved, active ingredient in the United States.

Cypermethrin, a pyrethroid, a synthetic cousin to deltamethrin, another common active ingredient in bed bug sprays.

The good news is that a bed bug resistant to deltamethrin is not necessarily resistant to permethrin. If a product with deltamethrin is not working for you, this might work (and the reverse is true).

As you can see in the pictures, Hot Shot Bed bug spray kills on contact and leaves no oily residue or film. This product is a pre-mixed insecticide sold in 32 oz bottles and in one-gallon containers.

This spray may be a good choice for someone who doesn't want to mix their own spray. This product also offers a money back guarantee; the instructions on how to get your money back is on the back label.

Hot Shot is a well-known brand, so their customer service is outstanding. On Hot Shot’s Review page for this product, you can see they appreciate, and are responsive to, feedback.

The back label contains the product usage instructions, which are in English and Spanish. The label on the back opens, revealing two additional pages of instructions.

This bed bug spray has fewer instructions than some other products because you are not mixing anything. Hot Shot is the only company that currently has a full line of bed bug products.

The spray, fogger and travel spray are all important parts of eradicating bed bugs.

The fact that all three are the same brand is beneficial because it is safer to use all in one kind of spray. Using different combinations of sprays may not be safe.

Only a licensed professional can tell you which pesticides are safe to use together. Since Hot Shot has a full line of bed bug products, the consumer does not have to worry.

Hot Shot Bed Bug Spray Back Label

The back label on Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea spray peels away to reveal directions.
The back label on Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea spray peels away to reveal directions. | Source

Hot Shot Spray Handle

The spray handle that comes with Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray
The spray handle that comes with Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Spray | Source

The Cons

This wouldn't be an honest, fair review without talking about the cons. When I wrote this review in 2012, I complained about the instructions. Since then, they listened to the complaints and created better instructions. They also provide a full guide on their website. Now, I have one less con to tell you about!

Hot Shot Bed Bug Spray's biggest flaw is the spray nozzle. It works much like any spray bottle. By the time your done spraying, expect a cramp in your hand.

You might be thinking, "Why not put this in my own one-gallon sprayer? " The type of sprayer where you just hold the lever down.

I investigatedthe matter, but the product clearly states to use the product as intended. The lid is sealed for a reason. Do not try to pour the product into a different container.

Maybe other people have stronger hands that won’t cramp; but for me, this was a big turn off.When spraying for bed bugs, you need to cover a lot of areas. The sprayer is just not made for that.

This is when it all began to make sense. I read the instructions again and realized that it would be a better use the spray to use it in tandem with the bed bug fogger.

I just wish the product would have said that right on the label. You don't need to spray every inch of your house. You need to spray cracks and corners and then fog the rest of the house!

It was not until I looked more carefully in the instructions that I realize it actually says it is just a spot treatment. Through my mistake, hopefully, readers will understand why the need to read ALL of the instructions.

How Did it Work?

When I was only using the spray I was bored and exasperated. Then, after I made my realization I used the spray and then the fogger. This method worked very well.

If you are shopping for prevention, having something like this around could be handy. Say you go to a friend's house and find out they have bed bugs.

You can throw your clothes in the washer and dryer, but you might want to spot spray your bed, just in case a stowaway made it back to your house.

You might want to spray the bottom of your bag so bed bugs in infested places will be less likely to choose you as their target.

Using this spray on some items you travel with is not a bad idea. Plus, Hot Shot has developed a travel spray (picture on the right).

I have only seen it sold at Amazon and Home Depot and Walmart, but I think this product will be hugely popular.

I keep a bottle of the travel spray in my purse at all times, and even if you do not use Hot Shot's bed bug spray and fogger, I recommend people keep a bottle of the bed bug travel spray near.

I think the issue with Hot Shot Bed Bug spray is that it is that the instructions are not clear enough. It is a spot treatment and needs to be used in tandem with the fogger.

This is written in the label, but not emphasized enough. Someone dealing with bed bugs may not comprehend everything they read, just because of their stress levels.

Customers should know they need to buy both products for this to work.

Once you understand this is a spot spray, and that you need to purchase their fogger, you are on the right track. One word of warning: do not mix other brands of fogger with this spot spray.

You do not want to risk creating a dangerous chemical reaction between the sprays. If you have any questions about this product comment below, follow the link to Hot Shot's website or call their customer service number.

As stated on the Hot Shot Bed Bug spray label:

Telephone number: 1-800-917-5431

P.S. The bottle also states that the buyer is responsible for safety and use in accordance to the directions on the bottle. So don't just read this and get spraying, READ the entire label.

Hot Shot Instructions Choice 1

 
 
 
1
Spray cracks with Hot Shot Spray
Seal and launder all cloth items before fogger
2
Apply Hot Shot fogger
Allow time to dry, and for the room to air out.
3
Seal cracks and crevices
 
4
Use Hot Shot Spray behind beds, to box springs and any surface the fogger could not reach.
Use spray were logical, and where DE is not appropriate
5
Repeat steps 2 and 4 as needed 2 weeks later
 
6
Apply Food Grade Diatomaceous Earth
Under beds, carpet and dressers

Hot Shot Instructions Choice 2

 
 
 
1
Use fogger
Seal, remove and launder all clothing and cloth items. Even clothing from closet and drawers. Pull furniture away from walls.
2
Spray any perimiter the fogger missed and any bed bugs you can see
.Only enter once foger is dry, and the time limit for returning to the room, as stated on instructions, has passed.
3
Apply Food Grade DE
Once fogger is dry and it is safe to go in the room, Use duster to get DE in to cracks and crevices. Place under furniture.
4
Seal Cracks and crevices
 
5
Use spray and DE as needed
 

How to Use Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea Products

Let's talk about how to use Hot Shot Bed Bug and Flea spray. In my fogger and insect bed bug article I include suggested instructions about how to use Hot Shot Spray with the fogger. However, It is probably a good idea to cover that here, as well.

There are various ways to use the spray and fogger in tandem. You do use the spray deep inside cracks and crevices. After this, you follow up with the insect killing bug bomb.

Using the product with other measures, such as sealing up cracks and crevices improves how effective Hot Shot is to kill bed bugs. For fleas you do not need to seal.

Alternatively, you can combine using Hot Shot products, both the spray and fogger, with diatomaceous earth. Or, you can try the new Hot Shot Powder instead of DE. The powder and DE works on both fleas and bed bugs.

This actually might be the most cost effective way to go.If you choose this method, you would not use Hot Shot Spray in cracks. Instead, you would use diatomaceous earth and a duster in the cracks.

If you want to know more about using diatomaceous earth, click here.

Long story short, DE does kill bed bugs, but very slowly. DE does not dissipate.
This means you will not have to reapply it as often.You still want to seal the cracks up after you use the duster to line the cracks with DE.


For both fleas and bud bugs consider using mattress covers on all beds. You can treat your mattress with Hot Shot Mattress and Luggage Treatment, and then place a mattress cover over it to prevent further problems.

  • Best Brands of Mattress Covers:
  • Jieshiling Protector Cover
  • SafeRest Zippered Encasment
  • LINESPA Waterproof Protector
  • SureGuard Bed Bug and Flea Zippered Cover
  • Sleep Defense System
  • Tru Mattress Cover


These products are cheapest and easy to find Amazon Prime or Domyownpestcontrol.com)


Questions & Answers

  • If the "bug bomb" type is used inside a car what are the possible heath concerns to the driver of the car?

    The problem with using a fogger in a car is that it is not designed with that purpose in mind. If you found a brand that was specifically designed for that it would be much safer. I wouldn't use this in my car or tell you to do so.

    Some health concerns may be excessive exposure to pesticides through skin contact. Also, since it is winter, the chemicals may be continually cycled through the cabin of the car which could be hazardous to the respiratory tract.

  • Will this product kill spiders?

    This product may kill some types of spiders. However, this product is designed to kill bed bugs and fleas. In my experience, spiders have outlasted this product.

    Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion is an alternative product from the same brand. I have also found that Temprid SC is good at killing spiders quickly.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Dam critters 

      2 months ago

      Ok so I got the big spray bottle the de and the foggers gotta kid that is eleagic af to them and we just had a baby so that's 6 kids me and the wife. Treated the whole dam house in wall cracks out let's tossed bed and chair in the most affected room. Dam school had a infestation. Lucky us. I will give a honest revew in a few days. Also I did all the clothes in dryer first to try and kill anything with heat then sprayed them let set then wash hot water and laundry soap. Fingers crossed I'll let you guys know.

    • profile image

      carry 

      4 months ago

      And does anyone know how long you need to wait after spraying your mattress before you can sleep in it again

    • profile image

      Russ 

      6 months ago

      Hot spot beg bug spray modified their formula when the added Nylar. it no longer works at all. You can set off fogger, return to air out, and you will see not only bed bugs runn8ng around, but silver fish, nats, fleas., etc. no effect on anything. tried twice, second time twice as many as 8nstructed. same results. some looked deas, but many openly walking around. Usex additional sprays, but 3 days later, infestation growing- no good. I am severly alergic, fever when bit and massive welts. This product provided no relief, seemed to feed them! So, now we know, bed bugs eat human blud and Nylar flee insecticide. Too bad they added food instead of poison for bed

      bugs!

    • profile image

      Antoine 

      10 months ago

      This product is terrible and misleading. It should be taken off of the market. It states that it kills bed bugs; however, I sprayed a surface, came back one hour later and the bed bugs were still alive. It does't kill on contact or at all.

    • Bedbugabscond profile imageAUTHOR

      Melody Trent 

      10 months ago from United States

      I don't know what state you are in. However, most states have strict laws that require landlords to follow procedure, or to call a professional. There are laws that protect tenants as well. If I were you I would look up the tenant rights for your state.

    • profile image

      Nichole s 

      10 months ago

      Is it harmful to be in the building immediately after it's treated and for the landlord to continuously spraying while tenant's are coming back immediately after it's been sprayed as well as sleeping directly on sheets that have been sprayed. plz answer

    • profile image

      scheryl 

      10 months ago

      do you use the spray before you use the fogger? Can I leave my closet and drawers open in the bedrooms?

    • profile image

      Anna 

      11 months ago

      Does the smell of the spray affect the bug?

    • profile image

      Michael 

      12 months ago

      Your product does not work. All it did was aggravate the bed bugs and made them spread even further into the house.

      Ba humbug on all the great reviews that your company put on the net.

    • profile image

      Ty 

      12 months ago

      This product does not work. I have an infested bed that has been sprayed five days in a row with a lot of spray. They are running around like they have been sprayed with water. They don't die with this product. I would have removed the bed from my home by now but have been waiting for the product to work so I don't get the bugs on me when I trash the bed. I guess I have to vacuum them up then remove bed. I should not have to worry about living bugs and they should be dead. This product is like water . I am very unhappy with this product. I would give this product a zero rating.

    • profile image

      Heidi 

      14 months ago

      Is there a product to use to prevent future infestations?

    • profile image

      Billy 

      19 months ago

      So I have been living with bed bugs in my moms house for about 2 months now. we have used hot shot and also a powdered hot shot to help remove them from my room but they keep coming back!!! we have tried everything bleaching the floors and using the hotshot. nothing is working and im afraid they are in my walls. I dont know iv'e actually sprayed the hot shot on one of the bedbugs and it didn't do anything to it,it was still alive and moving.

    • profile image

      Moosevp 

      21 months ago

      Iv gutted my house. And littrally sprayed Harris bed bug spray and fogged and hot shot an their still here. I threw everything out hulled it to the local dump and now I spread de in ever inch of my house and bleached all th walls of the home. Took the pictures of the walls sprayed an cleaned them. Now I'm sitting in a empty house. On the center of the floor with just blankets as pads and the blankets have Been washed on deep wash and dryer heated to the hottest setting. Now I have to call the pro because in noticing bed bugg eggs near the hendges of the doors. Now if I got rid of everything just to be safe and they are still coming back why. And I'll post more after I get the pro in here

    • profile image

      Donna 

      2 years ago

      Can the aerosol be used with pets in the house if they are not in the room you are spraying it in? How long after spraying is it safe to bring let back in the room?

    • profile image

      pa 

      3 years ago

      Hot shot begbug spray is the best thing I have used. We had a minor incident in a couch never seen anything but ppl kept getting bit. Foggers DON'T WORK n r a waste of money. But what I did was wash all the blankets on the couch in hot water n dried them twice than vaccumed the couch n cushions thoroughly n carpets than I sprayed hotshot spray in every inch of the couch used about half a can. No problems ever since best product ive ever tried n its not that expensive. It got rid of my issue n have not had any ever since.

    • profile image

      Joy 

      3 years ago

      Hello recently we discovered bed bugs in our room I'm super allergic to them every bit after 4 or 5 hours leave a big red inflammation on my skin my husband isn't ! And let me tell you it's a nightmare ....... We have been trying this hot shot foggers and it seems this control the infestation a little bit I found a couple dead and all dry out... Which is good but after a few days they are back and biting again (two bites the most) I'l try today the spray and fogger together waiting for a better result if someone can give me tips I'll appreciated!!! Thanks

    • profile image

      red fox 

      5 years ago

      i used the hot shot spray last night saturated my bed. bad idea. woke up in the middle of the night room was spinning. i needed to vomit and diarrhea at the same time. but i shot a blank and just vomited twice. went to work, at lunch got on the train and started screaming bc it felt like the train was flipping over. call a professional and use natural, water based products. you will have to spray and inspect every night. i have also moved my bed to the middle of the room and removed my sheets.

    • profile image

      UGH!! 

      5 years ago

      Up at4;17 a.am dreading going to sleep! I purchased both Hotshot fogger and spray and like many others agree after setting off 2 foggers in my bedroom I am living in a nightmare. The fogger is the WORST thing to do, it really pisses them off and seems to muliply them by the thousands!! Well, alright, that may be a stretch, but I went from 2 bites in weeks to point of being ran out f my room after fogging!!

      I striped my room of clothing bagging everything outside, bought a steamer steamed EVERYTHING in room, COMPLETELY covered room with DE and have now taken up ALL carpet throughout my home replacing with hardwood.

      I PROMISE you I wish I had NEVER used those foggers!! I had no clue what bit me as I never saw the insect, never knew I even had such a problem but was determined never to be bitten again by spider or whatever bit me. I never knew these things really existed. because my bed WAS the only place I was bitten I chose Hotshot bed bug killer when I saw it at store. NOW EVERY DAY/ALL DAY & NGHT!! I'm one that feels EVERY bite , which hurt, plus I feel them crawling on me. My skin has become so senitive that like that spoiled little chick in the nursey ryhme who felt the pea under many mattresses I feel these sandlike pests under sheets, through clothing!!

      I am the only one in my family being bitten so trying to manage them is harder because my family thinks it's all in my head.

      If only the good Lord would hurry and answer my repeated prayer to remove these things from my life!!

      DO NOT FOG it only distrupts them causing them to spread throughout room or home!!!

    • profile image

      lely 

      5 years ago

      ive been using this and it really kills em on contact God bless hot shots

    • profile image

      cyndi 

      5 years ago

      My grandson got into the spray bottle and sprayed it he is 4 his dad grabbed it but it was still spraying they both r throwing up the poison control told them to go out side and see how they feel i told them 2 go straight to hosp....

    • Bedbugabscond profile imageAUTHOR

      Melody Trent 

      5 years ago from United States

      Calling a professional is ALWAYS preferred. If someone is in a situation where they can't, for some reason, then it is so important to READ, READ, READ everything about bed bugs.

      The only way to really get rid of bed bugs on your own is to have a great deal of knowledge under your belt.

    • furniturez profile image

      furniturez 

      5 years ago from Washington

      I've had this issue one time and one time only... I don't trust myself to deal with these little nuisances. To me it's worth the money to hire a professional!

    • Bedbugabscond profile imageAUTHOR

      Melody Trent 

      5 years ago from United States

      Calling a pro for bedbugs is always a good idea. I am sorry to hear about the mites. I am not surprised it offered limited help for mites. You may be able to call the same pro for advice on how to get rid of mites.

      The first step would be to identify the kind of mites. Some mites are common to hope with certain types of pets, such as rodents or birds. If that is the case, you may need to get a vet involved as well.

      You can find more information about mites here: http://www.asktheexterminator.com/Mites/index.shtm...

    • profile image

      mgmontini 

      5 years ago

      I called a pro. over bedbugs. But have now found mites. Used the spray (it also comes in a spray can), & found it fo limited help.

    • profile image

      Fran 

      5 years ago

      I bought this product for fleas. I cannot fog as I have parrots and other pets in the house which need to be moved out per room application. I will give an update..

    • Bedbugabscond profile imageAUTHOR

      Melody Trent 

      6 years ago from United States

      Emily, I am sorry to hear that. It sounds as if you have the resistant strain. There is a lot of controversy over resistance, but I do believe that there are strains that have already grown resistant to permethrin.

      Have you tried using diatomaceous earth? Also have you worked through my bed bug extermination check list? Have you sealed your home? If your bugs are resistant there are other measures you can take, but it could be time to call a professional.

    • profile image

      Emily Poling 

      6 years ago

      The foggers combined with the hot shot spray just pisses those bastards off! They are worse now than they EVER were!!!!!!!

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      Now this spray method is one I could handle easily. Great idea, but one I hope I never have to use. Voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, dengarden.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://dengarden.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)