Long-Term Review of the Silgranit II Granite Composite Kitchen Sink

5 stars for Blanco Silgranit II Composite Granite Sink

My Search for a Kitchen Sink: How I Chose the Blanco Silgranit II Granite Composite Sink

My Blanco Silgranit II - Diamond Equal Double in Metallic Gray.
My Blanco Silgranit II - Diamond Equal Double in Metallic Gray. | Source

How much can you say about a kitchen sink? As I found out, quite a lot! In this updated long-term review of the Blanco Silgranit II granite composite sink, I hope to share with you how satisfied we have become with our purchase. I also want to share where you can find some of the best prices.

While planning an extensive kitchen remodel, I knew that we were going to replace our sink. When the search started, I had no idea that there were so many choices. I mean, a sink is a sink, right? However, after some initial research of reviews and recommendations from family and friends, we decided on a Silgranit II granite sink by Blanco. I must admit that after two years, I am still very impressed with our selection. When I installed it, I had no idea how much value, practicality, and beauty a good sink would add to our kitchen.

Why a Granite Sink?

A composite granite sink is extremely easy to clean and hard to chip.
A composite granite sink is extremely easy to clean and hard to chip. | Source

The Silgranit II is a composite sink manufactured from 80 percent granite and cast in a single pouring. Unlike natural granite, granite composite is not porous. That means it resists stains, is safe for all foods and, according to Blanco, is fully hygienic. It’s also much lighter than the typical cast iron porcelain sink, which means you can undermount it as well.

Other features of this sink are that it is resistant to alkalis and acids as well as scratches and chips. I learned the latter firsthand when I accidentally dropped a 10lb cast iron cooking grate from my soapy hands onto the center divider! Another feature that I found surprising is that the sink has a soft feel to the touch.

What about heat, you ask? Well, these sinks are heat resistant up to 536 degrees Fahrenheit. That means you can dump your big boiling pots of water from cooking pasta into the sink without any worries. I do it all the time. During my research I started to find an unwarranted opinion that granite sinks have a tendency to crack when doing this. After quite a bit of investigation, I could only find one person who actually reported this happening, and it wasn’t a Silgranite II sink. In fact, Blanco gives you a lifetime warranty.

In Short, the Best Features of Composite Granite Sinks Are:

  • They are incredibly easy to clean.
  • They are lighter than porcelain, which allows your to undermount them.
  • They are resistant to chipping and scratching.
  • They do not clang when hit with pots and pans.
  • They can handle high temperatures.
  • They come in a wide variety of colors.

Below, I will go more in detail.

Are Granite Sinks Are Hard to Keep Clean?

No, they are not! These sinks are unbelievably easy to keep clean and looking like new. They don’t leave water marks, scratches, or spots like stainless sinks might, and there are no black marks to constantly be rubbing out as there are with porcelain ceramics. A little dish soap and a sponge is all it takes for a quick clean-up.

Two members of my family have the white- and biscuit-colored sinks that will occasionally get a black mark from dark-colored pots rubbed hard on the sink. They report that the marks come right off with the scrubby side of a sponge. If for some reason you have neglected regular maintenance or have particularly hard water that has lightened the look of the darker colored sinks, Bar Keeper’s Friend and a little mineral oil brings out a brand-new luster.

Silgranit II Stain Test

Will Granite Go with My Kitchen Décor?

Yes, that’s one of the best parts about choosing these sinks. Unlike stainless and most ceramic sinks, they come in seven different fashion-conscious colors and 23 different shapes. You can choose to accent your countertop with a contrasting color or blend in with a less-conspicuous choice. They are available in either the classic drop-in or stylish undermount configurations.

My sink is metallic gray, which provides an accent to the darker, grayish-blue quartz.
My sink is metallic gray, which provides an accent to the darker, grayish-blue quartz. | Source

So, How Do I Like My Sink?

The sink we chose was the undermount Diamond Equal Double in metallic gray. Since our countertop is a darker, grayish-blue quartz, this color provided a lighter accent of the same color tone. It also goes extremely well with the stainless faucets and décor we have around the kitchen. Keep in mind that when ordering, drain flanges and strainers are not included. They can be ordered separately or purchased at any local hardware store.

The first thing that stood out was the depth of these sinks. Most are two to three inches deeper than your standard sink, which I love. It makes it so much easier to handle and wash big pots and pans without splashing water all over the place. One note: Make sure to account for this additional depth in the sink when it comes to installation. It might require a slight redesign in the plumbing underneath so that your garbage disposal and trap are aligned properly with the house drain pipe.

The other benefit I noticed with granite composite was that water kept its temperature much longer than a stainless sink.

It’s also much quieter. There is no more of the hollow-sounding banging around of pots and pans.

The most attractive part of this sink is how I usually clean up afterwards: Just rinse and go! Living in Southern California, we have extremely hard water. I’m amazed that after two years now of mostly light cleaning we haven’t had to scrub out any hard water spots.

Best Prices for the Blanco Silgranit II Kitchen Sink

As I said earlier, I wanted to share with you where you can find the best prices for the Silgranit II kitchen sink. After we did a lot of shopping around and visited participating dealers in our area, we found that we were consistently finding the best prices for various models on Amazon and E-Bay. Amazon prices are so low that they are restricted from posting advertised prices until you click onto their site.

However, this doesn't mean that you can't find a better price for the Blanco Silgranit II in your area if you have time to wait for a special promotion from a local dealer. My brother actually saved money when he found a dealer in his area that offered a free installation with the purchase of the sink. The sink itself didn't have a particularly low price, but the combined savings of the sink and installation was a deal he could not pass up.

In Conclusion

I really like our Blanco Silgranit II kitchen sink and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a new replacement. Admittedly, they are more expensive than most quality stainless and porcelain models, but the price is well worth the difference. If you want a sink that is beautiful as well as extremely functional and easy to keep clean, then the Blanco Silgranit II may be the sink you have been looking for.

Comments 32 comments

Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

Glimmer Twin Fan 4 years ago

Never knew there were granite sinks. Interesting hub!

ripplemaker profile image

ripplemaker 4 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

Now this is helpful for sure for those looking right now to replace their sinks.

Congratulations! Your hub has been nominated on the Hubnuggets! Check this out Read and vote okay?

Ann 3 years ago

The information on this page has helped me be more knowledgeable about the sunks when I went looking for them in the stores. It really looks good. Thanks.

Stacy 3 years ago

I just wanted say that I love my new sink. I decided to finally get one after reading your review and that I'm really glad I did.

FullOfLoveSites profile image

FullOfLoveSites 3 years ago from United States

They look like clay and hard to clean, but looks may be deceiving! I'm curious about this type of material for a sink. I agree -- stainless sinks sound noisy when the water from a faucet drips onto them.

I bet these are more pricey than the usual stainless sinks? But judging from your hub it sounds like it's worth it.

Up, useful and a following. :)

byshea profile image

byshea 3 years ago Author

Actually, one of the benefits to this sink is how easy it is to clean. Yes, they are more pricey than a good quality heavy gauge stainless sink, but in my opinion, if you are going to be using it multiple times a day it is well worth it. Did I mention that they come in more than one color :) ?

RTalloni profile image

RTalloni 3 years ago from the short journey

Thanks for an introduction to the Blanco Silgranit sink.

byshea profile image

byshea 3 years ago Author

You are welcome.

Kelmack profile image

Kelmack 3 years ago

I purchased a blanco siligranit sink for my new home in 2009. Best purchase ever! I actually bought online and it was cheaper than the amount the builder was allowing for a stainless steel. Mine is a single bowl black, very durable easy to clean does not water spot or scratch. Would not have any other kind of sink!

byshea profile image

byshea 3 years ago Author

That's how I found out about these sinks Kelmack. My brother did the same thing as you when he built his house. After hearing so much about how he liked his sink we decided to try one as well.

Janet 3 years ago

These are real nice sinks. I think the stain video sold me. I need to talk to my husband tonight!

tillsontitan profile image

tillsontitan 3 years ago from New York

This sounds like a great sink. I have a Swanstone which is similar in its strength and durability. I've had it for twenty years and it still looks like the day I bought it. I'm sure your information will lead a lot of people to at least look at this great Blanco sink and seriously consider buying one.

Voted up, useful, and interesting.

byshea profile image

byshea 3 years ago Author

Thanks tillsontitan and I'm glad that your Swanstone sink still looks like new. It's a testament to good quality granite composite sinks. I just wanted to share the fact that there is more to choose from in kitchen sinks than just porcelain or aluminum.

CyclingFitness profile image

CyclingFitness 3 years ago from Nottingham UK

That looks an awesome sink- I've just got on the property ladder and always looking for inspiration when it comes to home items. The only worry i have is that if I go for my chosen colour of black they can actually lose colour over time- any experience of this?

byshea profile image

byshea 3 years ago Author

Great question about the color fading. The color will not fade with these sinks, but they can develop a whitish residue from hard water deposits over time that will give the illusion of fading. According to Blanco, when this happens just clean the sink real well with a non-scratch cleaner like Bar Keeper's Friend or BonAmi and then rub it down with a little mineral oil. It will bring the color right back to new.

Kelmack profile image

Kelmack 3 years ago

I have a black one, and have had it for 4 years- no fading scratches or anything. VERY easy to clean. I had the white residue one time and used mr clean magic eraser that worked wonderful!

Au fait profile image

Au fait 3 years ago from North Texas

Sounds like a great sink. I like things that last and don't need constant repairs, and that most of all do the job I bought them to do. Practical, useful, easy to care for, reasonably priced, and attractive.

Janice 3 years ago

I don't usually make comments, but I read your review about 6 months ago and finally convinced myself to buy a Blanco Silgranit sink. I have the Diamond Equal Double in biscuit. I've never had a light colored sink like this and my last one was a stainless sink.

I came back to let you know that this is the best sink I've ever had! It still looks brand new and I love how quiet it is compared to my old stainless steel sink. My family is Italian and I cook with big pans. I was a bit worried about scratches and possible stains (especially with a light colored sink) from my homemade pasta sauces. I don't even think about it anymore and I love how deep it is. If I was to do it over again though, I would have opted for the undermount style. I think it makes it easier to clean the counter.

emtea920 2 years ago

thanks for the information everyone. Now can you tell me whether stemware breaks easily (or more easily) in granite composite sinks? Please

Kelmack profile image

Kelmack 2 years ago

I have not had any issues of breaking when I drop items unless it was a very fragile cheap glass to begin with. I'm pretty rough on things, and I still love my sink (mine is black). Still using Mr Clean magic eraser when needed- not water marks, scratches or anything. LOVE IT and can't imagine having any other kind of sink

Brenda 2 years ago

Hi , I have just received my blanco sink , one thing that concerns me is the front of the sink , which will be visible when the cupboard door is open , is cracked and extremely rough and I am worried about cutting my hands on it when getting something out of the cupboard . Anyone else experience this .

byshea profile image

byshea 2 years ago Author

To be clear, I believe you are talking about underneath the counter? After almost 3 years, we have yet to contact the sink from under the counter. I know that ours has a rough surface from the casting, but the thought of being cut has never crossed our mind.

Anyone else?

21 months ago


We use glass crockery - pots plates glasses etc. Does the same break easily if dumped in the granite sink???

Anonymous 15 months ago

Not all natural stone is porous - many granites are very dense and virtually nonporous (e.e., Absolute Black, Uba Tuba) and soapstone is nonporous. It's a common misconception that all "granites" and natural stones are porous.

busia 13 months ago

I love the beauty of the sink . However, I am worried about sanitizing the sink. I have small grandchildren, one has strep now. I use bleach daily in my sink now to sanitize. It seems there is now way to sanitize since you can not use bleach on the dark color . I do have the brown sink on order but I am thinking about changing to stainless only for sanitation purpose. Any information for me?

byshea profile image

byshea 13 months ago Author

Hello Busia. According to Blanco's instructions for the Silgranit sinks, you can soak a solution of 1 part bleach to 1 part water for up to an hour in their sinks. I believe to sanitize you would only need around 5 minutes or so, but I could be mistaken.

Here is the link to their instructions:

Kat Lamb 9 months ago

After reading all the great reviews of this sink I purchased it..its to installed yet. I would like advise on getting the matching drain or disposal ring flange from Blanco. I see in pictures people have posted with stainless drains. I will have to special order the color to match.

Just wondered what other people use in this sink. Thanks

Carole 5 months ago

I wish I could agree with the above reviews. I have This sink for 2 1/2 years. It stains easily and the stains are difficult to remove. It has also chipped in three spots. I'd never buy or recommend this sink.

byshea profile image

byshea 5 months ago Author

Wow, that is unfortunate Carole. Your sure it's the Silgranit II by Blanco and not another manufacturer?

Kelmack profile image

Kelmack 5 months ago

I have had mine since 2009 and stills looks perfect! I'm hard on things too. Mine is black.

alex 8 weeks ago

I want to know about the difference in this sink in regards to washing crystal. I love to use crystal but of course the crystal chips easily in porcelain sinks, less chipping of crystal in stainless steel sinks does the granite sink compare. In other words if you knock a glass against the sinks' surface does the granite make it more likely to chip or less than porcelain or stainless ????

byshea profile image

byshea 8 weeks ago Author

That's a great question Alex. I know it's much more forgiving than porcelain, but how it compares to stainless in that regards I'm not sure. Hopefully someone who has experience with both can let us know.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article